Keeper of My Home

Keeper of My Home is a digital educational resource co-developed by Indigenous peoples, for Indigenous peoples, with support from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. It teaches children and young people about caring for a home and focuses on housing health and safety.

Teaching children and youth about housing can help improve economic and social conditions. It can bring about positive change through a bottom-up approach. This happens as youth become housing champions and teach their families and communities about housing safety and health issues.

WHO CAN USE IT?

Keeper of My Home was developed for First Nation students, from Kindergarten to Grade 12, attending on-reserve schools. Teachers, as well as other facilitators outside of the traditional classroom environment, can use it.

What does it consist of?

The program is made up of classroom learning resources and e-Learning games, and is built around the following 4 themes:

1. Traditional teaching of the community
2. First Nation housing topics
3. Home maintenance
4. Home safety

Download the draft Housing Topic List for Kindergarten to Grade 6

Play the pilot e-Learning games developed for Grade 6 (Google Chrome required and only available in English)

Want to know more?

To request more information, please contact:

Line Champagne
lchampag@cmhc.ca
(204) 318-1764

Date Published: December 31, 2018

Gardien de ma maison

Gardien de ma maison est une ressource éducative numérique créée par les peuples autochtones pour les peuples autochtones en collaboration avec la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement. L’outil enseigne aux enfants et aux jeunes à prendre soin de leur maison et met l’accent sur la santé et la sécurité du logement.

Informer les enfants et les jeunes sur le logement peut aider à améliorer les conditions économiques et sociales. Cet enseignement peut également apporter des changements positifs grâce à une approche ascendante, où les enfants et les jeunes deviennent des champions du logement et enseignent à leur famille et à leur communauté les enjeux liés à la santé et à la sécurité du logement.

Qui peut s’en servir?

Gardien de ma maison s'adresse aux élèves des Premières Nations, de la maternelle à la 12e année, qui fréquentent des écoles dans les réserves. Les enseignants, ainsi que d’autres animateurs, à l'extérieur d'une salle de classe traditionnelle, peuvent s'en servir.

En quoi consiste-t-il?

Le programme allie apprentissage en classe traditionnelle et jeux éducatifs en ligne. On y traite des quatre thèmes suivants :

1. Enseignement traditionnel de la communauté
2. Logement des Premières Nations
3. Entretien d’une maison
4. Sécurité à la maison

Téléchargez la liste de sujets sur le logement couverts de la maternelle à la sixième année.

Jouez aux jeux éducatifs pilotes en ligne conçus pour la sixième année (navigateur Google Chrome requis et en anglais seulement).

Vous voulez en savoir plus?

Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec :

Line Champagne
lchampag@schl.ca
(204) 318-1764

Date de publication : 31 décembre 2018