In partnership with First Nation communities and the Government of Canada, we’re helping to create and maintain on-reserve housing.

Everybody has a role to play. We provide training, resources and financial assistance to help First Nation communities build, buy or renovate on-reserve housing. The federal government provides funding to cover many housing-related costs, which First Nation communities can use as they see fit. And as the property owners and administrators, First Nation communities are responsible for managing and overseeing most on-reserve housing.

Every year, nearly $280 million is spent to address the on-reserve housing needs of First Nation communities. More than half of this spending — $152 million — comes from CMHC. The rest comes from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC).

How we support First Nation housing

We support the on-reserve housing needs of First Nation communities in many ways:

  • We provide ongoing subsidies to more than 26,900 households on-reserve.
  • We contribute millions in funding each year to help renovate and retrofit on-reserve housing units.
  • We offer training to First Nation communities to raise their awareness of the most common housing problems on-reserve. This training also teaches First Nation members how to build and maintain safe and healthy homes.
  • We help councils and on-reserve businesses create internships for First Nations and Inuit youth. This on-the-job training and practical work experience helps youth move toward long-term employment in the housing sector.
  • We provide financial support to help build shelters and second-stage housing for victims of domestic violence.
  • We help keep on-reserve seniors and people with disabilities in their homes by funding accessibility-focused home adaptations.
  • We provide funds to help First Nation communities top up their replacement reserves so they can make housing repairs.

Off-reserve and northern housing

We also help address the affordable housing needs of people living off-reserve or in Canada’s north. This involves working closely with a variety of provincial and territorial partners, as well as with private and non-profit organizations. You can learn more from our Affordable Housing Centre.

Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Nous aidons à créer et à conserver des logements dans les réserves avec les communautés des Premières Nations et le gouvernement fédéral.

Chacun a un rôle à jouer. Nos formations, ressources et aide financière aident les communautés des Premières Nations à construire, acheter ou rénover des logements dans les réserves. Le gouvernement du Canada finance une partie des coûts reliés aux logements. Les communautés des Premières Nations peuvent utiliser ce financement comme elles le souhaitent. En tant que propriétaires et administratrices, les Premières Nations gèrent et supervisent la majorité des logements dans les réserves.

Chaque année, environ 280 millions de dollars sont dépensés pour répondre aux besoins de logement dans les réserves des Premières Nations. Plus de la moitié de ce montant – 152 millions de dollars – provient de la SCHL. L’autre portion provient d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

Comment nous appuyons le logement des Premières Nations

Nous contribuons à répondre aux besoins de logement dans les réserves des communautés de plusieurs façons :

  • Nous versons des subventions continues à plus de 26 900 ménages dans les réserves.
  • Nous versons des millions de dollars chaque année pour rénover et améliorer des logements dans les réserves.
  • Nous offrons des formations aux communautés des Premières Nations pour les sensibiliser aux problèmes de logement courants dans les réserves. Les membres des Premières Nations y apprennent aussi comment construire et entretenir des logements sûrs et salubres.
  • Nous aidons les conseils et les entreprises des réserves à créer des stages pour les jeunes des Premières Nations et les jeunes Inuits. L’expérience de travail et la formation pratique les aident à trouver du travail à long terme dans le secteur du logement.
  • Nous offrons une aide financière pour construire des maisons d’hébergement et des logements de transition destinés aux victimes de violence familiale.
  • Nous aidons les aînés et les personnes handicapées dans les réserves à demeurer dans leur logement en finançant des adaptations d’accessibilité.
  • Nous versons de l’argent pour aider les communautés des Premières Nations à combler leur réserve de remplacement pour qu’elles puissent réparer les logements.

Logement hors des réserves et dans le Nord

Nous répondons aussi aux besoins de logement abordable des personnes vivant hors des réserves ou dans le Nord du Canada. Dans ce but, nous collaborons avec divers partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux et avec des organismes privés et sans but lucratif. Pour en savoir plus sur ce programme, communiquez avec votre spécialiste du Logement des Premières nations.

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018