Everybody deserves a place to live that protects both their health and safety. So when major repairs are needed to bring on-reserve housing up to minimum health and safety standards, we’re here to help. Through our Residential Rehabilitation Assistance Program (RRAP) On-Reserve, we help First Nations cover the costs of major repairs to substandard homes.

Who is eligible for financial support?

This program is open to all First Nations or individual First Nation members who need major repairs to their homes. The occupants’ total household income must be within or below an established range, based on household size and geographic region.

What work is eligible?

Financial support is available for homes that lack basic facilities or need major repairs to keep the occupants safe. Structural, electrical, plumbing, heating and fire safety work are just some of the areas covered by this program. Support may also be available to address problems of overcrowding.

Important: Have you done any of these repairs before getting your application approved in writing? If so, they won’t be eligible for funding under this program.

How much financial support is available?

We will provide up to $60,000 for each unit that needs major home repairs. If your property is located on-reserve in northern or remote areas, the maximum amount may be increased by 25%. This is a forgivable loan, meaning it doesn’t have to be repaid if you meet all the terms and conditions.

What if I need funding for a different kind of project?

You may be eligible for one of our other on-reserve housing programs. For example, we have a program to help with emergency repairs to on-reserve housing. There are also programs to fund accessibility modifications for people with disabilities and adaptations for seniors.

CMHC success stories

Pekuakamiulnuatsh Takuhikan First Nation: Offering a variety of housing options to meet the diverse needs of its members.

For more information about this program, please contact your First Nation Housing Specialist.

Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Tout le monde mérite de vivre dans un logement salubre et sûr. Si des réparations majeures s'imposent pour rendre des logements abordables dans les réserves conformes aux normes, nous pouvons aider. Le Programme d’aide à la remise en état des logements (PAREL) aide les Premières Nations à payer les réparations majeures des logements non conformes.

Qui est admissible à l’aide financière?

Les Premières Nations ou leurs membres qui doivent faire des réparations majeures dans leurs habitations. Le revenu des occupants ne doit pas dépasser le maximum établi selon la région et la taille du ménage.

Quels sont les travaux admissibles?

L'aide est offerte pour les habitations dépourvues d'installations essentielles ou nécessitant des réparations majeures pour la sécurité des occupants. Le programme couvre notamment les travaux de charpente, d’électricité, de plomberie, de chauffage et de sécurité-incendie. Une aide peut aussi être offerte dans les cas de logements surpeuplés.

Important : Avez-vous fait l’un de ces travaux avant l’approbation de votre demande par écrit? Si oui, ces travaux ne seront pas admissibles au financement du programme.

Quel est le montant de l’aide financière?

Nous offrons jusqu’à 60 000 $ par logement bénéficiant de travaux majeurs. Si votre bâtiment est situé dans une réserve d’une région nordique ou éloignée, le maximum peut être augmenté de 25 %. L’aide versée est un prêt que vous n’aurez pas à rembourser si vous respectez certaines conditions.

Que faire si j’ai besoin de financement pour un autre type de projet?

Vous pourriez être admissible à l’un de nos autres programmes de logement dans les réserves. Par exemple, nous avons un programme d’aide pour les réparations d’urgence aux logements dans les réserves. Nous pouvons aussi financer les modifications d'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées et les adaptations pour les personnes âgées.

Exemple de réussite à la SCHL

Première Nation Pekuakamiulnuatsh Takuhikan : une gamme d’options de logement pour répondre aux différents besoins des membres.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce programme, communiquez avec votre spécialiste du Logement des Premières nations.

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018