Loans Administration

CMHC holds and makes loans under various programs to federally-subsidized social housing providers, First Nations, provincial and territorial providers, and municipalities, as well as non-subsidized housing support loans (includes loans made through the Municipal Infrastructure Lending Program).

The loan portfolio consists of a mix of renewable and non-renewable loans in support of social housing. Loans may be on reserve or off.

Loans administration staff ensures the effective administration of CMHC’s loan portfolio and protects the Corporation’s security though loan servicing functions such as payment control, fire insurance verification, property tax verification, processing ownership changes and discharges.

Direct Lending

CMHC provides low-cost loans directly to federally-assisted social housing sponsors, seeking to continue financing their housing projects and to First Nations to finance new housing production.

As a federal Crown corporation, CMHC can obtain funds through borrowings from the Department of Finance under the Crown Borrowing Framework, at a lower cost than can a private lender. In addition, the interest rates charged by CMHC do not include a profit margin. CMHC can then pass on these savings to the social housing sponsors by charging lower interest rates, resulting in reduced federal subsidy requirements.

Groups eligible for Direct Loans through CMHC include: First Nations or social housing sponsors, including public and private non-profit organizations and Aboriginal non-profit organizations (both on and off reserve) who receive federal funding and who own and operate housing for low and moderate income households.

Direct lending is available to eligible sponsors across Canada. In British Columbia, All Nations Trust offers direct loans to First Nations projects on behalf of CMHC.

For more information, please contact us by e-mail at loansadm@cmhc.ca.

Renewal Rate
Pool Maturity Date Term Rate Effective for Rate-Setting Date
October  1, 2023 5 Years 0 Month 2.68% October 1 to 31, 2018 September 25, 2018

The rate is quoted on a semi-annual basis.

Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Administration des prêts

La SCHL détient et octroie des prêts en vertu de divers programmes de logement pour les fournisseurs de logements sociaux subventionnés par le gouvernement fédéral, les Premières nations, les fournisseurs provinciaux et territoriaux et les municipalités. Elle offre également des prêts de soutien au secteur du logement non subventionné (notamment par l’intermédiaire du Programme de prêts pour les infrastructures municipales).

Le portefeuille de prêts comprend des prêts renouvelables ou non renouvelables pour soutenir le logement social. Les prêts sont accordés autant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur des réserves.

Le personnel chargé de l’administration des prêts assure l’administration efficace du portefeuille de prêts de la SCHL et protège les sûretés de la Société en s’acquittant des activités d’administration des prêts, comme le contrôle des paiements, la vérification de l’assurance, la vérification des impôts fonciers, le traitement des changements de propriétaire et les quittances.

Prêt direct

La SCHL accorde des prêts directs à faible coût aux organismes de parrainage d’ensembles de logements sociaux aidés par le gouvernement fédéral qui cherchent à continuer de financer leurs ensembles résidentiels, ainsi qu’aux Premières Nations qui souhaitent obtenir du financement pour la construction de logements.

À titre de société d’état fédérale, la SCHL peut obtenir des fonds au moyen d’emprunts auprès du ministère des Finances, aux termes du cadre d’emprunt des sociétés d’état, à des taux inférieurs à ceux d’un prêteur privé. De plus, le taux d’intérêt demandé par la SCHL ne comporte aucune marge bénéficiaire. La SCHL peut ensuite repasser ces économies aux groupes de parrainage en demandant un taux d’intérêt inférieur, ce qui permet de réduire les subventions fédérales.

Les groupes admissibles aux prêts directs de la SCHL comprennent : les Premières Nations ou les organismes de parrainage de logements sociaux, incluant les organisations sans but lucratif publiques, privées et autochtones (à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des réserves) qui sont subventionnées par le gouvernement fédéral et qui possèdent et administrent des logements à l’intention des ménages à revenu faible ou modeste.

Des prêts directs sont accordés, par l’entremise de la SCHL, aux groupes de parrainage admissibles, et ce, d'un bout à l'autre du Canada. En Colombie-Britannique, la All Nations Trust Company consent des prêts directs au nom de la SCHL à des ensembles d’habitation appartenant à des Premières nations.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à loansadm@schl.ca.

Taux de renouvellement
Date d’échéance du bloc Durée Taux Date d’effet Date de fixation du taux
1 août 2023 5 ans 0 mois 2,48 % 1 au 31 août 2018 le 24 juillet 2018

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018