Mortgage Loan Insurance from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) can help bring homeownership within reach.

What is Mortgage Loan Insurance?

Mortgage loan insurance is typically required by lenders when homebuyers make a down payment of less than 20% of the purchase price. Mortgage loan insurance helps protect lenders against mortgage default, and enables consumers to purchase homes with a minimum down payment starting at 5%* — with interest rates comparable to those offered with a larger down payment. To obtain mortgage loan insurance, lenders pay an insurance premium. Typically, your lender will pass this cost on to you. The premium is based on the loan-to-value ratio (mortgage loan amount divided by the purchase price). The premium can be paid in a single lump sum or it can be added to your mortgage and included in your monthly payments.

How much does it cost?

The following table provides you with a general idea of the premiums charged by CMHC. The exact premium will be calculated when you apply for a mortgage and provincial sales tax may apply.

 

 

Loan–to-Value

 

Premium on Total Loan**

 

Standard Purchase Premium
Up to and including 65% 0.60%
Up to and including 75% 1.70%
Up to and including 80% 2.40%
Up to and including 85% 2.80%
Up to and including 90% 3.10%
Up to and including 95% Traditional Down Payment
Non-Traditional Down Payment
4.00%
4.50%

CMHC’s online Mortgage Calculator can also help you with your estimations.

*The minimum down payment requirement for mortgage loan insurance depends on the purchase price of the home. For a purchase price of $500,000 or less, the minimum down payment is 5%. When the purchase price is above $500,000, the minimum down payment is 5% for the first $500,000 and 10% for the remaining portion. Mortgage loan insurance is available only for properties with a purchase price or as-improved/renovated value below $1,000,000.

**Premium savings may be available if you are porting an existing CMHC-insured mortgage or if you are using CMHC-insured financing to purchase an energy-efficient home or purchase an existing home and make energy-saving renovations. Ask your mortgage professional or visit www.cmhc.ca for more details about mortgage loan insurance, such as down payment requirements, portability, etc.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) offers a variety of publications, calculators and online tools to help you make informed and responsible homebuying decisions.

The information is provided by CMHC for general illustrative purposes only, and does not take into account the specific objectives, circumstances and individual needs of the reader. It does not provide advice, and should not be relied upon in that regard. The information is believed to be reliable, but its accuracy, completeness and currency cannot be guaranteed. Neither CMHC and its employees nor any other party identified in this Article (Lender, Broker, etc.) assumes any liability of any kind in connection with the information provided. CMHC stakeholders are permitted to distribute the materials at their expense. The above mentioned stakeholder organization is responsible for the distribution of this document.

L'assurance prêt hypothécaire de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) peut vous permettre d'accéder à la propriété.

Qu’est-ce que l’assurance prêt hypothécaire?

L’assurance prêt hypothécaire est habituellement exigée par les prêteurs lorsque l’emprunteur verse une mise de fonds inférieure à 20 % du prix d’achat de l'habitation. L’assurance prêt hypothécaire protège les prêteurs en cas de défaut de paiement de la part de l’emprunteur et permet aux consommateurs d’accéder à la propriété en versant une mise de fonds minimum à compter de 5 %*, tout en profitant des mêmes taux d’intérêt que les ménages disposant d’une mise de fonds plus élevée. Pour obtenir une assurance prêt hypothécaire, le prêteur doit verser une prime et, en général, il fait payer cette prime à l’emprunteur. Le montant de la prime est fonction du rapport prêt-valeur (montant du prêt hypothécaire divisé par le prix d'achat). La prime peut être réglée en une seule fois ou être ajoutée au montant du prêt hypothécaire et être ainsi incluse dans les mensualités.

Quels en sont les coûts?

Le tableau ci-dessous donne une idée générale des primes perçues par la SCHL. Le montant exact de la prime sera calculé lorsque vous présenterez une demande de prêt hypothécaire, et une taxe provinciale pourrait s’appliquer.

 

 

Rapport prêt-valeur
Prime s’appliquant au montant total du prêt**
Taux de prime pour un prêt achat ordinaire
65 % ou moins 0,60 %
75 % ou moins 1,70 %
80 % ou moins 2,40 %
85 % ou moins 2,80 %
90 % ou moins 3,10 %
95 % ou moins
Source de fonds traditionnelle Source de fonds non traditionnelle
4,00 %
4,50 %

Le Calculateur de prime offert en ligne par la SCHL peut aussi vous aider à obtenir une estimation.

*La mise de fonds minimale pour obtenir une assurance prêt hypothécaire dépend du prix d'achat de l'habitation. Si le prix d'achat est de 500 000 $ ou moins, la mise de fonds minimale est de 5 %. Si le prix d'achat est supérieur à 500 000 $, la mise de fonds minimale est égale à 5 % de la première tranche de 500 000 $ plus 10 % du reste. Une assurance prêt hypothécaire ne peut être contractée que lorsque la valeur dachat ou la valeur de la propriété rénovée est inférieure à 1 000 000 $.

**La prime peut être réduite s’il y a transfert de l’assurance prêt hypothécaire d’un prêt existant ou si un prêt assuré par la SCHL est utilisé pour acheter une habitation éconergétique ou pour acheter une maison existante et la rénover en vue d'en réduire la consommation d’énergie. Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’assurance prêt hypothécaire, par exemple sur les exigences relatives à la mise de fonds et sur la transférabilité, consultez votre conseiller en prêts hypothécaires ou visitez le site Web www.schl.ca.

La Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) offre une variété de publications, de calculateurs et d'outils en ligne qui vous aideront à prendre des décisions éclairées et responsables au moment de l'achat d'une habitation.

Les renseignements sont fournis par la SCHL strictement à titre indicatif, sans lien avec les objectifs, circonstances et besoins particuliers du lecteur. Ils n'ont pas pour objet de fournir des conseils et ne doivent pas être utilisés comme tel. Les renseignements fournis sont jugés fiables; leur exactitude, exhaustivité ou actualité ne peuvent cependant être garanties. Ni la SCHL ni ses employés, ni aucune autre partie mentionnée dans le présent feuillet documentaire (prêteur, courtier ou autre) ne peuvent être tenus responsables, de quelque façon que ce soit, relativement à l'information fournie. Les parties intéressées aux activités de la SCHL ont l'autorisation de distribuer la documentation à leurs frais. L'organisme intéressé mentionné ci-dessus est responsable de la distribution du présent document.