When the housing sector is efficient and well-functioning, the marketplace should be able to meet most people’s housing needs. Fortunately, Canada has one of the best housing systems in the world. As a result, almost 80% of Canadian households have their housing needs met through the marketplace, supported by our housing finance activities. Our mortgage loan insurance, for example, helps borrowers get financing at competitive rates.

But not everyone has the financial means to access or compete in the housing market. The marketplace, too, isn’t always able to meet the unique housing needs of certain groups, such as people with disabilities. In these cases, governments, community organizations, non-profits and the private sector work together to provide affordable housing.

What is affordable housing?

In Canada, housing is considered “affordable” if it costs less than 30% of a household’s before-tax income. Many people think the term “affordable housing” refers only to rental housing that is subsidized by the government. In reality, it’s a very broad term that can include housing provided by the private, public and non-profit sectors. It also includes all forms of housing tenure : rental, ownership and co-operative ownership, as well as temporary and permanent housing.

Since 1946, we’ve been a vital partner in helping Canadians access high-quality affordable housing. The federal government, through CMHC, invests $2 billion every year to ensure Canadians in need can access suitable housing.

 

Since 1946, we’ve been a vital partner in helping Canadians access high-quality affordable housing. The federal government, through CMHC, invests $2 billion every year to ensure Canadians in need can access suitable housing.

Existing social housing

Much of Canada’s social housing was built between 1946 and 1993. The federal government continues to make substantial investments in the existing social housing stock.

In 2016 , the federal government provided almost$1.7 billion to support over 536,000 households living in social housing. Provinces and territories administer 80% of the agreements with social housing providers. We administer the remaining 20%, including on-reserve housing projects in First Nation communities.

Our Affordable Housing Centre works with social housing providers to help keep their housing projects financially viable for the long term.

Investment in Affordable Housing program

The Investment in Affordable Housing (IAH) began in 2011. Under the IAH, the federal government is investing over $238 million annually, through March 2019, to help Canadians in housing need.

Under bilateral agreements with CMHC, the provinces and territories match the federal investments with contributions of their own. As housing needs vary across Canada, the provinces and territories are responsible for deciding how best to use that funding. They have the flexibility to invest in a range of affordable housing programs and to choose how they’re delivered.

National Housing Strategy

The National Housing Strategy – Canada’s first ever – was announced on November 22, 2017 with the goal of making sure Canadians across the country can access housing that meets their needs and that they can afford.

Building on investments announced in Budgets 2016 and 2017, the NHS is a detailed 10-year, $40 billion plan that will deliver results and benefit all Canadians – including building more affordable, accessible, inclusive and sustainable homes.

The primary focus will be on meeting the needs of vulnerable populations, such as women and children fleeing family violence, seniors, Indigenous peoples, people with disabilities, those dealing with mental health and addiction issues, veterans and young adults.

CMHC Affordable Housing Centre

Our team of affordable housing experts helps you build or preserve affordable housing. We provide personalized support, including local expertise and networking opportunities and financial assistance. We understand community needs, and work with partners to offer clients solutions for local housing challenges.

Through our Affordable Housing Centre, we provide a hub of resources to help facilitate the creation of new affordable housing or preserve existing affordable housing. Groups in the public, private and non-profit sectors rely on the Centre for affordable housing knowledge and expertise. We offer many interactive tools, as well as Canada’s largest inventory of housing information, research and market analyses.

We provide contributions and interest-free loans to qualifying projects through our Seed Funding program. This support helps with the up-front costs of a new affordable housing project or with preserving existing affordable housing.

Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Lorsque le secteur de l’habitation est efficace et fonctionne bien, le marché peut répondre à la plupart des besoins de logement. Heureusement, le Canada a l’un des meilleurs systèmes de logement au monde. Environ 80 % des ménages canadiens trouvent un logement qui répond à leurs besoins sur le marché. Et nos activités de financement de l’habitation soutiennent ce marché. Ainsi, notre assurance prêt hypothécaire permet aux emprunteurs d’obtenir un financement à des taux d’intérêt compétitifs.

Certains n’ont pas les moyens de faire face à la concurrence du marché du logement ou d’y accéder. Le marché ne peut pas non plus toujours répondre aux besoins particuliers de logement de certains groupes. C’est le cas pour les personnes handicapées. Les gouvernements et les organismes communautaires, sans but lucratif et privés travaillent alors ensemble pour offrir des logements abordables.

Qu’entend-on par « logement abordable »?

Au Canada, un logement est considéré comme abordable s’il coûte moins de 30 % du revenu avant impôt du ménage. Bien des gens croient qu’un « logement abordable » désigne uniquement un logement locatif subventionné par le gouvernement. En réalité, ce terme générique peut regrouper les habitations fournies par les secteurs privé, public et sans but lucratif. Il englobe également tous les modes d’occupation : logements locatifs ou pour propriétaire-occupant, coopératives d’habitation ou logements permanents ou temporaires.

Depuis 1946, nous jouons un rôle essentiel en aidant les Canadiens à accéder à des logements abordables de grande qualité. Par l'entremise de la SCHL, le gouvernement fédéral investit annuellement 2 milliard de dollars pour aider les Canadiens dans le besoin. Cet investissement leur permet d’accéder à des logements convenables.

Logements sociaux existants

La majeure partie des logements sociaux du Canada a été construite entre 1946 et 1993. Le gouvernement fédéral continue d’investir d’importantes sommes pour soutenir ce parc de logements sociaux.

En 2016, le gouvernement fédéral a versé environ 1,7 milliard de dollars pour aider plus de 536 000 ménages vivant dans des logements sociaux. Les provinces et les territoires administrent 80 % des ententes conclues avec les fournisseurs de logements sociaux. Nous administrons les 20 % restants, dont les ensembles de logements dans les réserves des communautés des Premières Nations.

Notre Centre du logement abordable travaille avec les fournisseurs de logements sociaux. Il les aide à maintenir la viabilité financière à long terme de leurs ensembles de logements.

Investissement dans le logement abordable

L’Investissement dans le logement abordable (IDLA) a commencé en 2011. Le gouvernement fédéral investit chaque année plus de 238 millions de dollars aux termes de ce programme. Il versera ce montant jusqu’en mars 2019 afin d’aider les Canadiens qui ont des besoins en matière de logement.

Les provinces et les territoires ont conclu des ententes bilatérales avec la SCHL. En vertu de ces ententes, ils fournissent une contribution équivalente à celle du gouvernement fédéral. Comme ces besoins varient d’une région à l’autre, les provinces et les territoires établissent la meilleure façon d’utiliser ces fonds. Ils ont la flexibilité d’investir dans différents programmes de logement abordable et de déterminer comment offrir ces programmes.

Fonds consacré à l’infrastructure sociale

INFORMATION TO COME

Stratégie nationale sur le logement

INFORMATION TO COME

Centre du logement abordable de la SCHL

Notre équipe d’experts du logement abordable vous aide à construire ou à conserver des logements abordables. Nous offrons un soutien personnalisé, notamment une expertise locale, des occasions de réseautage et une aide financière. Nous comprenons les besoins des collectivités. Avec nos partenaires, nous nous efforçons d’offrir à nos clients des solutions à leurs défis locaux liés au logement.

Notre Centre du logement abordable regroupe les ressources pour la création de logements abordables ou le maintien des logements existants. Il offre ses connaissances et son expertise sur le logement abordable aux secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif. Nous proposons un grand nombre d’outils interactifs. Nous offrons également le plus grand répertoire canadien de renseignements, de recherches et d’études de marché sur le logement.

Grâce à notre Programme de financement initial, nous offrons des contributions et des prêts sans intérêt pour les projets admissibles. Ce soutien aide à payer le coût initial d’aménagement d’un ensemble de logements abordables. Il aide également à conserver des logements abordables existants.

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018