The following terms and conditions govern your use of CMHC data, time series data, and any other Information that CMHC makes available to you.  By using the Information you agree to be bound by these terms and conditions.

If you do not agree to these terms and conditions, you may not use the Information.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

This agreement is between Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (“CMHC”) and you (an individual or a legal entity that you are authorized to represent) (“you”).

CMHC may modify this agreement at any time, and such modifications shall be effective immediately upon posting of the modified terms and conditions on the CMHC website, unless the posting specifies otherwise.

Your use of the Information will be governed by the terms and conditions in force as of the date and time you accessed the Information.

DEFINITIONS

The "Information" includes any data files, data bases, tables, time series, publications, custom data tabulations, graphs, maps and text for which CMHC is the creator and owner or in which CMHC holds intellectual property rights and made available to you in accordance with this agreement.

“Value-added Products” means any products you have produced by adapting or incorporating the Information, in whole or in part, in accordance with this agreement.

AVAILABILITY OF THE INFORMATION

CMHC may make the Information available to you via its website or other media at its sole discretion. CMHC does not guarantee the availability of the Information at any particular time or via any particular media.

LICENCE GRANT

Subject to any limitations set out in this agreement or otherwise communicated to you by CMHC, CMHC grants you a revocable worldwide, royalty-free, non-exclusive licence to:

  • use, reproduce, publish, freely distribute, or sell the Information;
  • use, reproduce, publish, freely distribute, or sell Value-added Products; and,
  • sub-licence any or all such rights, under terms consistent with this agreement.

In doing any of the above, you shall:

  • reproduce the Information accurately; and
  • acknowledge the source of the information in a clear manner, as set out in these terms.

You shall not:

  • use the Information in a manner that infringes any applicable laws;
  • use the Information in a way that suggests that CMHC endorses you or your use of the Information;
  • misrepresent the Information or its source;
  • use the Information in a manner that brings CMHC or the Government of Canada into disrepute;
  • merge or link the Information with any other databases for the purpose of attempting to identify an individual person, business or organization or extracting personal information;
  • present the Information in such a manner that suggests you may have received, or had access to personal information held by CMHC, or information about any identifiable individual;
  • permit a third party to use the Information in a manner that breaches these terms and conditions.

CMHC reserves its right to require at any time that any use of the Information be limited or discontinued.  If CMHC notifies you of such a requirement, you agree to comply with the notice immediately.

Redistribution

You are permitted to redistribute the Information to other individuals or entities, provided that such individuals or entities agree to be bound by these terms and conditions. 

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS

Intellectual property rights in the Value-added Products, being any and all intellectual property rights recognized by the law, shall vest in you or in such person as you shall decide or as determined by law.

Nothing in this agreement is intended to alter any pre-existing intellectual property rights.  All Intellectual property rights that CMHC holds in the Information shall remain the property of CMHC.  All intellectual property rights that third parties may have in the Information shall remain their property.

Acknowledgment of source

  1. You shall include the following notice on all reproductions of the Information:
    Source: Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC), name of product or information, reference date. This information is reproduced and distributed on an “as is” basis with the permission of CMHC.
  2. Where any Information is contained within a Value-added Product, you shall include on such Value-added Product the following notice:
    Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, name of product or information, reference date. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation of this product.
    or any other notice approved in advance in writing by CMHC.

ADVERTISING AND PUBLICITY

You shall not include on any reproduction of the Information or any material relating to your Value-added Product, or elsewhere:

  1. the name, crest, logos, domain names or other official marks of CMHC without the written permission of CMHC;
  2. the official symbols of the Government of Canada, including the Canada wordmark, the Coat of Arms of Canada, and the flag symbol, without written authorization from the Treasury Board Secretariat. Request for authorization from the Treasury Board Secretariat may be addressed to:
    information@fip-pcim.gc.ca
    Federal Identity Program
    Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
    300 Laurier Avenue West
    Ottawa, Canada K1A 0R5
  3. any annotation that may be interpreted as an endorsement by CMHC of the Value-added Product or that would imply that you have an exclusive distribution arrangement for any or all of the Information or that you have access to any confidential information or information not available to others.

NO WARRANTY AND NO LIABILITY

The Information is licensed “as is”, and CMHC makes no representations or warranties with respect to the Information, whether express or implied, in relation to the Information and expressly disclaims any implied warranty of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose.

None of CMHC, its officials, employees, representatives or successors will be responsible for errors or omissions in the Information and nor for any direct, indirect, special, incidental, consequential damages, no matter how they are caused, that you may suffer by reason of your possession, access to, or use of the Information.

TERM

This agreement is effective as of the date and time you access the Information and shall terminate immediately if you breach any of the terms of this agreement.  

Notwithstanding termination of this agreement:

  1. you may continue to distribute Value-added Products for the purpose of completing orders made and confirmed before the termination of this agreement, provided that you continue to comply with all terms and conditions of the agreement; and
  2. individuals or entities who have received Value-added Products or reproductions of the Information from you pursuant to this agreement will not have their licences terminated provided they remain in full compliance with these terms and conditions.

SURVIVAL

All obligations that you assume under this agreement that are of an ongoing nature will continue in full force and effect following termination of the agreement. For greater clarity, but without limiting the broad application of the foregoing statement, the following provisions survive expiration or termination of this agreement: Intellectual Property Rights, Acknowledgment of Source, Advertising and Publicity and No Warranty and No Liability.

BREACH OF THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS

You recognize that in the event you breach the terms and conditions of this agreement, monetary damages that may be available to CMHC will not likely be adequate to restore CMHC’s rights in the intellectual property.  You agree that CMHC may seek an injunction or similar remedy from a court to protect its rights in its intellectual property.

APPLICABLE LAW

This agreement will be governed and construed in accordance with the laws of the province of Ontario and the laws of Canada applicable therein. You agree to submit to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal Court of Canada in the event of a dispute.

Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: May 30, 2018

Les conditions suivantes régissent l’utilisation des données et des séries de données chronologiques de la SCHL ainsi que de toute autre Information que la SCHL met à votre disposition. Lorsque vous utilisez ces renseignements, vous acceptez d’être lié par les présentes conditions.

Si vous n’acceptez pas les dispositions des présentes, vous ne pouvez pas utiliser cette Information.

CONDITIONS

La présente entente est conclue entre la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (« SCHL ») et vous (une personne ou une entité juridique dont vous êtes le représentant autorisé) (« vous »).

La SCHL peut, à tout moment, modifier la présente entente, et les modifications entrent en vigueur dès leur affichage sur le site Web de la SCHL, à moins d’un avis contraire dans l’affichage.

L’utilisation que vous faites de l’Information sera régie par les conditions en vigueur à la date et à l’heure auxquelles vous accédez à ladite Information.

DÉFINITIONS

L’« Information » comprend tous les fichiers de données, bases de données, tableaux, publications, séries chronologiques, tableaux de données personnalisés, graphiques, cartes et textes appartenant à la SCHL ou pour lesquels la SCHL détient les droits de propriété intellectuelle et qu’elle met à votre disposition conformément à la présente entente.

Les « Produits à valeur ajoutée » signifient tous les produits que vous avez créés en y adaptant ou en y incorporant l’Information, en totalité ou en partie, conformément à la présente entente.

DISPONIBILITÉ DE L’INFORMATION

La SCHL met l’Information à votre disposition par l’intermédiaire de son site Web ou de tout autre média, et ce, à sa seule discrétion. La SCHL ne garantit en aucune façon la disponibilité de l’Information à un moment particulier ou par l’intermédiaire d’un média particulier.

OCTROI D’UNE LICENCE

Sous réserve des limites stipulées dans la présente entente ou qui vous sont communiquées de quelque façon que ce soit par la SCHL, la SCHL accorde une licence mondiale révocable, libre de redevance et non exclusive, pour :

  • utiliser, reproduire, distribuer gratuitement ou vendre l’Information;
  • utiliser, reproduire, distribuer gratuitement ou vendre les Produits à valeur ajoutée;
  • accorder une sous-licence pour une partie ou la totalité de ces droits, selon des modalités conformes à la présente entente.

Au cours des activités ci-dessus, vous devez :

  • reproduire l’Information avec exactitude;
  • indiquer clairement la source de l’Information, conformément aux présentes modalités.

Vous ne devez en aucun cas :

  • utiliser l’Information d’une manière qui enfreint toute loi applicable;
  • utiliser l’Information d’une façon qui suggère que la SCHL vous appuie ou appuie l’utilisation que vous faites de l’Information;
  • présenter de manière inexacte l’Information ou sa source;
  • utiliser l’Information de manière à jeter le discrédit sur la SCHL ou le gouvernement du Canada;
  • fusionner ou relier l’Information à une base de données dans le but d’essayer d’identifier une personne, une entreprise ou un organisme ou d’extraire des renseignements personnels;
  • présenter l’Information d’une manière qui suggère que vous pourriez avoir reçu des renseignements personnels détenus par la SCHL ou des renseignements au sujet d’une personne identifiable ou que vous avez eu accès à de tels renseignements;
  • permettre à une tierce partie d’utiliser l’Information d’une manière qui enfreint les présentes modalités.

La SCHL se réserve le droit d’exiger en tout temps de limiter ou d’interrompre l’utilisation de l’Information. Si la SCHL vous avise d’une telle exigence, vous acceptez de vous conformer sur-le-champ à cet avis.

REDISTRIBUTION

Vous avez l’autorisation de redistribuer l’Information auprès de personnes ou d’autres entités, pourvu que lesdites personnes ou entités acceptent d’être liées aux présentes modalités.

DROITS DE PROPRIÉTÉ INTELLECTUELLE

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur le contenu des Produits à valeur ajoutée, soit tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle reconnus par la loi, sont attribués à vous ou à toute autre personne à laquelle vous décidez de les attribuer ou selon ce qui est établi par la loi.

Rien dans la présente entente ne vise à modifier tout droit de propriété intellectuelle déjà existant. Tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle que la SCHL détient sur l’Information doivent demeurer la propriété de la SCHL. Tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle qu’une tierce partie pourrait détenir sur l’Information demeurent la propriété de celle-ci.

RECONNAISSANCE DE LA SOURCE

  1. Vous devez inclure l’avis suivant dans toutes les reproductions de l’Information :
    Source : Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL), nom du Produit ou de l’Information, date de référence. Ces renseignements sont reproduits et distribués « tels quels » avec l’autorisation de la SCHL.
  2. Lorsqu’un Produit à valeur ajoutée contient une Information quelconque, vous devez inclure dans ce Produit à valeur ajoutée l’avis suivant :
    Adaptation de données de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, nom du Produit ou de l’Information, date de référence. La présente ne constitue en aucun cas un appui de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement envers ce produit.
    ou tout autre avis approuvé d’avance par écrit par la SCHL.

PUBLICITÉ

Vous ne devez en aucun cas inclure dans toute reproduction de l’Information ou dans tout matériel portant sur votre Produit à valeur ajoutée, ou ailleurs :

  1. le nom, l’écusson, les logos, les noms de domaine ou toute autre marque officielle de la SCHL sans l’autorisation écrite de la SCHL;
  2. les symboles officiels du gouvernement du Canada, notamment le mot-symbole Canada, les armoiries du Canada et le symbole du drapeau, sans une autorisation écrite du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Les demandes d’autorisation du Conseil du Trésor peuvent être soumises à l’adresse suivante :
    information@fip-pcim.gc.ca
    Programme de coordination de l’image de marque
    Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
    300, avenue Laurier Ouest
    Ottawa (Canada) K1A 0R5
  3. toute annotation qui pourrait être interprétée comme un appui de la SCHL envers le Produit à valeur ajoutée, qui tendrait à impliquer que vous avez conclu une entente de distribution exclusive d’une partie ou de la totalité de l’Information ou que vous avez accès à des renseignements confidentiels ou à des renseignements auxquels d’autres personnes n’ont pas accès.

AUCUNE GARANTIE NI RESPONSABILITÉ

L’Information est autorisée sous licence « telle quelle », et la SCHL n’émet aucune déclaration ou garantie quant à cette Information, que ce soit de manière explicite ou implicite, ou en rapport avec cette Information, et décline expressément toute garantie implicite de qualité marchande ou d’adaptation à un usage particulier.

En aucun cas la SCHL, ses agents, employés, représentants ou successeurs ne pourront être tenus responsables de toute erreur ou omission dans l’Information ni de tout dommage direct, indirect, spécial, accessoire ou consécutif, peu importe la cause, que vous pourriez subir en raison de votre possession ou utilisation de l’Information ou de votre accès à cette Information.

DURÉE DE L’ENTENTE

La présente entente entrera en vigueur à la date et à l’heure auxquelles vous accédez à l’Information et prendra fin si vous ne respectez pas l’une ou l’autre des dispositions de la présente entente.  

Nonobstant l’expiration de la présente entente :

  1. vous pouvez poursuivre la distribution des Produits à valeur ajoutée afin de remplir les commandes qui ont été passées et confirmées avant la résiliation de la présente entente, pourvu que vous continuiez de vous conformer à toutes les modalités de la présente entente;
  2. les licences des personnes ou des entités qui ont reçu de vous des Produits à valeur ajoutée ou des reproductions de l’Information conformément à la présente entente ne seront pas résiliées pourvu que ces personnes ou entités respectent entièrement les présentes modalités.

MAINTIEN DES MODALITÉS

Toute obligation de nature permanente que vous assumez au titre de la présente continuera de s’appliquer après la résiliation de la présente entente. Par souci de clarté, et sans limiter l’application générale de l’énoncé précédent, les dispositions suivantes resteront en vigueur après la résiliation ou l’expiration de la présente entente : Droits de propriété intellectuelle, Reconnaissance de la source, Publicité et Aucune garantie ni responsabilité.

NON-RESPECT DES CONDITIONS

Vous convenez qu’en cas de non-respect de votre part des conditions de la présente entente, les dommages monétaires que la SCHL pourrait réclamer seront probablement insuffisants pour rétablir les droits de propriété intellectuelle de la SCHL. Vous convenez que la SCHL pourrait demander une injonction ou un recours semblable à un tribunal pour protéger ses droits de propriété intellectuelle.

LOIS APPLICABLES

La présente entente sera régie par et interprétée selon les lois de la Province de l’Ontario et les lois du Canada qui s’appliquent ici. Vous acceptez de vous soumettre à l’autorité exclusive de la Cour fédérale du Canada en cas de conflit.

Date de publication : 30 mai 2018