Research Highlights



Technical Series 96-224

Sound Transmission Through Floors

Introduction

Footstep noise and other impact sounds are common sources of annoyance in multi-family dwellings. Research has shown that the impact sound transmission ratings provided by standard tests rank floors differently than people would, mostly due to low-frequency thumping noises. This is especially true for wood joist and similar lightweight constructions with carpeted floors; the carpet ensures a good rating in the standard tests, but does little to attenuate low-frequency impact sound.

Research Program

The data in this report was taken from a research project that investigated a possible new test for evaluating the transmission of low-frequency impact sounds through lightweight floor constructions.

Two types of wood joist floors, three types of wood truss floors and one solid concrete floor were tested as shown in Table 1. As well as testing the basic floors with the top surface unfinished (bare), five different floor toppings were placed on the floors: a carpet, a carpet and underpad and three types of floating floors (Table 2).

Results

Table 1 includes a summary of the Sound Transmission Class (STC), Impact Insulation Class (IIC) and Tapping Machine Rating (TMR) for the assemblies tested. The TMR is the new single number suggested by the researchers to replace the impact insulation class and the weighted impact sound index.

It was found that the addition of soft floor coverings or a floating slab does not always give the same improvement for all floor types. If, however, floors of the same general type are considered, the improvement is roughly the same. Therefore, while there are some deviations, the following are useful approximations for wood joist or truss structures: adding carpet improves IIC by about 8 and TMR by 2 to 5; a carpet and underpad improves IIC by about 25 and TMR by about 15; Float1 and Float2 improve IIC by about 12 points and TMR by about 15.

The only system to consistently show the capacity to reduce vibration transmission to a floor and the retransmission of the noise is that involving the installation of 14 mm thick neoprene pads under the appliances' support points. This system also eliminated the resonance tones in most cases.

Implications for the Housing Industry

As the 1990 National Building Code (NBC) does not recommend a minimum value for impact insulation class, the researchers recommend a minimum value of IIC 55, obtained when the floor is tested without carpet. They also recommend a minimum STC 55; this value is greater than the STC 50 recommended in the NBC to provide a margin of safety which allows for degradation due to construction and design errors that introduce flanking transmission. Another study has demonstrated that people living in buildings with STC 55 are satisfied and less likely to complain. Also recommended is the use of the TMR with a minimum value of 50. These recommended values and the results presented in Table 1 can be used to select construction for use in multi-family buildings.

Project ManagerJacques Rousseau

Research Report: Sound Transmission Through Floors

Research Consultant: Institute for Research in Construction, National Research Council Canada

A full report on this research project is available
from the Canadian Housing Information Centre
.

The information in this publication represents the latest knowledge available to CMHC at the time of publication, and has been thoroughly reviewed by experts in the housing field. CMHC, however, assumes no liability for any damage, injury, expense or loss that may result from use of this information.

Table 1. Basic Floor Constructions Tested and Summary of STC, IIC and TMR Ratings for Main Series of Measurements

96224-1e-1.gif (81824 bytes)
96224-1e-2.gif (72461 bytes)

 

Table 2. Floating Floor Descriptions

96224-2.gif (32012 bytes)

©1999 CMHC-SCHL. All rights reserved.

Série technique 96-224

Transmission des sons à travers les planchers

Introduction

Les bruits de pas et autres bruits d'impact sont fréquemment dérangeants dans les logements collectifs. Les recherches ont conclu que les indices de transmission des bruits d'impact obtenus lors d'essais normalisés ne correspondent pas à la perception humaine, en raison principalement des bruits sourds et lourds à basse fréquence. C'est particulièrement le cas des constructions à solives de bois et des autres constructions légères semblables comportant des planchers revêtus de moquette; la moquette permet d'obtenir un bon indice dans l'essai normalisé, mais n'atténue pas beaucoup les bruits d'impact à basse fréquence.

Programme de recherche

Les données contenues dans le rapport proviennent d'un document de recherche portant sur un nouvel essai qui pourrait servir à évaluer la transmission des bruits d'impact à basse fréquence à travers les constructions à ossatures de plancher légères.

Deux types de planchers à solives de bois, trois types de planchers à solives préfabriquées et un plancher de béton massif ont fait l'objet d'essais, selon les indications du tableau 1. Outre les essais effectués sur les planchers de base sans revêtement de sol, des essais ont été faits sur des planchers revêtus d'une moquette, d'une moquette et d'une thibaude, et trois types de planchers flottants (tableau 2).

Résultats

Le tableau 1 résume l'indice de transmission du son (ITS), l'indice d'isolement aux bruits d'impact (IIC) et l'indice de machine à choc (IMC) des assemblages testés. Le nouveau référent, l'IMC, est l'indice que les chercheurs proposent pour remplacer l'indice d'isolement aux bruits d'impact et l'indice des bruits d'impact pondéré.

On a découvert que la mise en oeuvre d'un revêtement de sol souple ou d'une dalle flottante ne procure pas toujours la même amélioration à tous les types de plancher. Si, par contre, les planchers appartiennent au même type général, l'amélioration reste sensiblement la même. Par conséquent, il y a certes des écarts, mais les valeurs suivantes représentent des approximations utiles pour les ossatures à solives de bois ou à solives préfabriquées : l'ajout de moquette améliore l'indice d'isolement aux bruits d'impact d'environ 8 et l'IMC de 2 à 5; la moquette et la thibaude améliorent l'IIC d'environ 25 et l'IMC d'environ 15; les planchers flottants 1 et 2 améliorent l'IIC d'environ 12 points et l'IMC d'environ 15.

Conséquences pour le secteur de logement

Comme l'édition 1990 du Code national du bâtiment (CNB) n'établit aucun indice minimal d'isolement aux bruits d'impact, les chercheurs recommandent d'adopter un indice minimal de 55, soit la valeur obtenue lorsque le plancher est testé sans moquette. Ils proposent également d'adopter un ITS minimal de 55; en privilégiant cette valeur supérieure à l'ITS 50 que préconise le CNB, on se dote d'une marge de sécurité compensant la dégradation attribuable à des vices de construction ou d'erreurs de calcul qui introduisent des parcours de transmission indirects. Une autre étude a révélé que les gens vivant dans des bâtiments conformes à l'ITS de 55 sont satisfaits et moins susceptibles de se plaindre. Il y est également recommandé de recourir à l'IMC et de lui conférer la valeur minimale de 50. Ces valeurs recommandées et les résultats présentés dans le tableau 1 peuvent servir à choisir les ossatures devant servir dans la construction d'ensembles collectifs.

Directeur de projet : Jacques Rousseau

Rapport de recherche : Transmission des sons par les planchers

Consultant de recherche : Institut de recherche en construction, Conseil national de recherches du Canada

Il est possible de se procurer un rapport complet de ce projet
de recherche au Centre canadien de documentation sur l'habitation
.

Cette publication contient les renseignements les plus à jour dont dispose la SCHL, lesquels ont été examinés par des experts du secteur de l'habitation. Toutefois, la  SCHL n'assume aucune responsabilité pour les dommages, les blessures, les coûts et les pertes pouvant découler de l'utilisation de ces renseignements.

Tableau 1. Planchers de base testés et résumé des indices ITS, IIC et IMC por les principales séries de mesurements

96224-1f-1.gif (50528 bytes)

96224-1f-2.gif (47343 bytes)

Tableau 2. Types de planchers flottants

96224-f2.gif (19221 bytes)

©1999, SCHL-CMHC. Tous droits réservés.