Having a dedicated housing manager can make a big difference in your First Nation community. A housing manager will set housing policies, prepare budgets, manage tenant relations, oversee new construction and renovation, and more.

Before hiring a housing manager, it’s important to determine what your community needs and expects from this person. A good housing manager will adopt many different roles: planner, technician, administrator, supervisor, communicator and financial officer. For this reason, preparing a written job description is essential to ensuring the housing manager can meet your expectations.

Most First Nation housing managers will find themselves performing some or all of the following tasks:

Planning

Housing managers are often responsible for developing the housing plan and housing policy for their community. They also prepare short- and long-term housing maintenance plans as well as capital replacement plans.

Applying technical and housing knowledge

Housing managers oversee all new construction and renovation to make sure the community’s housing is up to code. Health and safety are also ensured through annual housing inspections. First Nation housing managers also help prepare applications for various housing programs. This includes developing proposals and tenders, and using technical reports to make smarter decisions and recommendations.

Financial management

Many housing managers prepare the budgets and financial forecasts for their community’s housing needs. They then monitor costs and expenses, and use information found in financial reports to make appropriate decisions.

Administration

Housing mangers need to be well organized. They may be asked to design and run the community’s housing department, including writing the job descriptions for its employees. This can also include organizing community meetings, preparing reports and even serving as chair of the housing committee. First Nation housing managers must also be great record keepers, as they may be responsible for maintaining the community’s housing inventory.

Interpersonal communications

Your housing manager should be personable and a great communicator. If they’re asked to manage other housing staff, they’ll need to know how to complete performance reviews and other evaluations. They must also be comfortable meeting with individual tenants and the community as a whole to discuss housing issues. For example, they may need to organize and attend community meetings, write reports and give presentations.

CMHC success stories

Atikameksheng Anishnawbek First Nation: Mutual accountability helps housing office collect rent and puts community members in good financial standing.

Penticton Indian Band: New hire pays off — innovative staff position bridges gaps and improves rent collection.

Contact your local CMHC office for more advice and information on the typical duties of a First Nation housing manager.

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Un gestionnaire d’habitations engagé pour votre communauté peut faire toute une différence. Cette personne établit les politiques de logement, prépare les budgets et gère les relations avec les locataires. Elle supervise aussi la construction et la rénovation et plus encore.

Avant d’engager un gestionnaire d’habitations, il faut déterminer les besoins de votre communauté et les attentes envers lui. Un bon gestionnaire d’habitations jouera plusieurs rôles : planificateur, technicien, administrateur, superviseur, communicateur et agent financier. Il est donc essentiel de rédiger une description de poste pour que le gestionnaire d’habitations réponde à vos attentes.

La plupart des gestionnaires d’habitations des Premières Nations accompliront une ou plusieurs des tâches suivantes :

Planification

Les gestionnaires d’habitations sont souvent chargés d’établir un plan et une politique de logement pour leur communauté. Ils préparent aussi des plans d’entretien à court et à long terme et des plans de remplacement des immobilisations.

Application de connaissances techniques et du secteur du logement

Les gestionnaires d’habitations supervisent toutes les constructions et rénovations pour que les logements de la communauté soient conformes au code. L'inspection annuelle des logements permet de vérifier qu’ils sont salubres et sûrs. Les gestionnaires d’habitations des Premières Nations préparent aussi des demandes pour différents programmes de logement. Cela comprend la rédaction de propositions et d’appels d’offres et l’utilisation de rapports techniques pour prendre des décisions et faire des recommandations.

Gestion financière

Beaucoup de gestionnaires d’habitations préparent les budgets et les prévisions financières pour les besoins de logement de leur communauté. Ils surveillent ensuite les coûts et les dépenses et utilisent les informations des rapports financiers pour prendre les décisions appropriées.

Administration

Les gestionnaires d’habitations doivent être bien organisés. Ils peuvent devoir créer et diriger le service du logement de la communauté et à rédiger les descriptions de poste des employés. Cela peut comprendre l’organisation de réunions avec la communauté, la préparation de rapports et la présidence du comité de logement. Les gestionnaires d’habitations doivent être d’excellents gestionnaires de documents, car ils sont responsables de tenir un inventaire du parc de logements.

Communications interpersonnelles

Votre gestionnaire d’habitations doit être un excellent communicateur et savoir bien se présenter. S’il doit gérer d’autres employés, il doit savoir comment faire des évaluations du rendement et d’autres évaluations. Il doit être à l'aise de rencontrer les locataires individuellement ou l'ensemble de la communauté pour discuter de problèmes de logement. Par exemple, il pourrait devoir organiser des réunions avec la communauté et y participer, rédiger des rapports et faire des présentations.

Exemples de réussite à la SCHL

Première Nation Atikameksheng Anishnawbek : le principe de la responsabilité mutuelle aide le service du logement à percevoir les loyers. Il l'aide aussi à régulariser la situation financière des membres de la communauté.

Bande indienne de Penticton : une embauche fructueuse. La titulaire comble les lacunes du système et améliore le recouvrement des loyers grâce à une approche novatrice.

Contactez votre bureau local de la SCHL pour obtenir conseils ou informations sur les tâches du gestionnaire d’habitations d'une Première Nation.

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018