Are you responsible for property management in your First Nation community? If so, a maintenance plan is a good way to ensure you’re putting your resources to their best use. This guide will show you how to build a maintenance plan that will help you carry out your property maintenance.

How can a maintenance plan help me?

By setting reasonable expectations and realistic goals, you can budget for all your annual maintenance activities. A big-picture view of your maintenance needs will let you easily group similar projects and balance your workload. It also helps identify peak work periods that can be hard to balance. It’s good to know about these beforehand, so you can arrange for the extra funding or labour you’ll need.

Be sure to involve everyone on your team throughout the planning process. For example, you’ll want to engage housing committee members, staff, technical services, your finance officer and chief and council.

Like any plan, your maintenance plan will be subject to change. It’ll need to reflect ongoing changes in revenue and estimated costs for different activities, as well as unexpected maintenance issues.

For more information, please contact your local CMHC office or CMHC consultant.

Date Published: January 1, 0001

Vous êtes responsable de la gestion des habitations dans votre communauté? Alors un plan d’entretien est un bon outil pour faire la meilleure utilisation de vos ressources. Ce guide vous indiquera comment planifier l’entretien des bâtiments.

En quoi un plan d’entretien peut-il m’aider?

En fixant des attentes raisonnables et des buts réalistes, vous pouvez établir les budgets de toutes vos activités d’entretien pour l’année. Une vue d’ensemble de vos besoins d’entretien vous permettra de regrouper facilement des projets similaires et d’équilibrer votre charge de travail. Vous pourrez aussi déterminer les périodes de pointe où il peut être difficile d’équilibrer le travail. Il est utile d'anticiper ces périodes pour prévoir le financement ou la main-d’œuvre supplémentaire dont vous aurez besoin.

Assurez-vous d’impliquer toute votre équipe dans toutes les étapes de planification. Faites appel aux membres du comité de logement, aux employés, aux services techniques, à l’agent des finances et à votre chef et conseil.

Comme tout autre plan, votre plan d’entretien peut être modifié. Il évoluera en fonction des changements dans les revenus ou les estimations de coûts des activités et de problèmes d’entretien imprévus.

Pour plus d’informations, contactez votre bureau local de la SCHL ou votre conseiller de la SCHL.

Date de publication : 1 janvier 0001