Once your housing policy has been written, you’ll need to develop a plan on how you’re going to implement it.

Chief and Ccouncil will want to know that you have the resources to implement the housing policy. For example, your new policy may include sending letters to home occupants who have not paid their rent on time. To make this work, though, you need to have processes in place to record all the relevant information. You’ll also need a way to track who has not paid their rent and the letters sent to them.

Your plan should describe how you’ll inform people affected by the housing policy and how they can get more information.

Inform staff about the housing policy

Your implementation plan should describe how staff will be notified and what they need to know. Staff need to be aware of how the new housing policy will affect their jobs before it is released. It’s always a good idea to meet with staff, either as a group or individually, to review any new policies.

Distribute and communicate the housing policy

It’s important that the implementation plan outlines who will get the policy and how. For example, the policy will need to be distributed to home occupants and other stakeholders. The plan should encourage community members, especially those affected by it, to ask questions and raise concerns.

The plan should also detail what you want to tell people about the policy and the ways you’ll do that. For example, you may want to create a summary document or a set of frequently asked questions. Many people will simply want to know what their responsibilities are without having to read a lot of details.

Make the housing policy available

A policy is more effective if people have easy access to it. Your implementation plan should describe where you will keep copies of the policy so community members can easily refer to it. For example, the policy could be placed on community bulletin boards or posted to a website.

For more information, please contact your First Nation Housing Specialist.

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Une fois la politique de logement rédigée, un plan doit être élaboré pour indiquer comment vous l’appliquerez.

Le chef et le conseil voudront savoir si vous avez les ressources nécessaires pour appliquer la politique. Par exemple, votre nouvelle politique pourrait prévoir l’envoi d’une lettre aux occupants qui n’ont pas payé leur loyer à temps. Vous devrez avoir mis en place un processus pour consigner toutes les informations pertinentes. Vous devrez aussi savoir quelles personnes n’ont pas payé leur loyer et quelles lettres leur ont été envoyées.

Votre plan doit décrire la manière dont vous informerez les personnes concernées et comment elles peuvent obtenir plus d’informations.

Informer le personnel à propos de la politique de logement

Votre plan d’application doit décrire la manière dont le personnel sera avisé et les choses qu'il doit savoir. Le personnel doit être informé de l’effet de la politique sur leur travail avant sa diffusion. Il est toujours préférable de rencontrer les employés, individuellement ou en groupe, pour passer en revue les nouvelles politiques.

Diffuser et communiquer la politique de logement

Il est important que le plan d’application prévoie qui obtiendra la politique et comment. Par exemple, la politique devra être communiquée aux occupants des logements et à d’autres intervenants. Le plan doit encourager les membres de la communauté concernés à poser des questions et à faire part de leurs préoccupations.

Le plan doit prévoir ce que les gens doivent savoir sur la politique et la façon dont ces informations seront transmises. Par exemple, il pourrait être utile de créer un document sommaire ou une série de questions et réponses. Plusieurs personnes voudront seulement savoir quelles sont leurs responsabilités, sans avoir à lire beaucoup de détails.

Donner accès à la politique de logement

Une politique est plus efficace lorsque tout le monde peut y accéder facilement. Votre plan doit prévoir où des copies de la politique seront conservées pour que les membres de la communauté puissent les consulter. Par exemple, la politique pourrait être affichée sur les babillards de la communauté ou sur un site Web.

Pour plus d’informations, contactez votre spécialiste du Logement des Premières nations.

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018