In 1997, we made several major changes to our On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program. Because of these changes, new terminology has been used in all operating agreements implemented after 1996. This page provides an overview of the terms found only in the older or newer versions of the operating agreement. You’ll also find a list of terms common to both versions of the operating agreement.

Terms common to both operating agreements

Replacement reserve

A specified amount that is deposited annually to a separate interest-bearing bank account. These funds are then used to cover the capitals costs of replacing major building components.

Subsidy

The financial assistance we provide to a First Nation. The subsidy is used to help meet a housing project’s operating costs and to reduce the First Nation’s revenue contribution.

Terms specific to post-1996 operating agreements

Operating reserve

The surplus accumulated after all costs and expenses are paid, which is held in a separate interest-bearing bank account. These funds are withdrawn to offset future operating deficits.

Minimum revenue contribution (MRC)

The First Nation’s minimum annual contribution to the On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program. This amount is set at the time we commit to the housing project. We use it to calculate how much assistance we’ll provide to the project.

The MRC can be collected through occupancy charges, other First Nation funding sources, or a combination of both. Together with our monthly subsidy payments, it forms the revenue base from which all project expenses are paid.

The MRC depends on the number of units in the project and the number of bedrooms per unit. For more information, see Schedule B of your project’s operating agreement.

Client selection criteria

The criteria to determine who’s eligible to occupy a unit in the housing project are developed by the First Nation. The selection criteria (and any changes made to them) must be approved by council and shared with us. They must also be shared with all community members.

Operating cost benchmark

An estimate of the project’s operating costs, including an allotment for the replacement reserve fund. We use this benchmark when calculating the maximum subsidy for a project. It’s established by the First Nation when we commit to the project. It also remains mostly unchanged throughout the term of the operating agreement. However, there may be adjustments to principal and interest caused by changes in loan interest rates.

Terms specific to pre-1997 operating agreements

Subsidy surplus fund

The surplus accumulated after all costs and expenses are paid, which is held in a separate interest-bearing bank account. These funds are withdrawn to offset future operating deficits. The subsidy surplus fund is limited to a maximum of $500 per unit.

Rent geared to income

The charging of rents according to a tenant’s income. Under this approach, families with higher incomes pay more for their housing, while those with lower incomes pay less. This ensures rents stay affordable for families with lower household incomes.

Maximum rent

The maximum allowable rent to be charged to a household for occupancy of a unit. Annual rent increases are applied by the First Nation. These increases are based on the Consumer Price Index or the amount needed to cover project operating costs, whichever is greater. Rent levels should be determined through income testing and verification.

A First Nation that does not do income testing must charge the maximum rent to all households. Alternatively, a First Nation may decide not to charge a tenant rent. In this case, it must contribute an amount to the project equal to what would’ve been collected from the tenant. This contribution must be made by the First Nation and can’t be reported as a receivable on its balance sheet.

Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: March 31, 2018

En 1997, nous avons apporté plusieurs changements importants à notre Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves. Suite à ces changements, une nouvelle terminologie a été utilisée dans tous les accords d’exploitation mis en place après 1996. Cette page contient un aperçu des termes utilisés seulement dans les versions plus anciennes ou plus récentes de l’accord d’exploitation. Vous trouverez aussi une liste des termes utilisés dans les deux versions de l’accord d’exploitation.

Termes utilisés dans les deux accords d’exploitation

Réserve de remplacement

Montant établi qui est déposé annuellement dans un compte bancaire distinct portant intérêt. Ces fonds sont ensuite utilisés pour couvrir les coûts en capital du remplacement d’éléments importants du bâtiment.

Subvention

Aide financière que nous fournissons à une Première Nation. Elle aide à payer les charges opérationnelles d’un ensemble de logements et à réduire la contribution sous forme de recettes de la Première Nation.

Termes utilisés dans les accords d’exploitation postérieurs à 1996

Réserve de fonctionnement

Surplus accumulé une fois que tous les coûts et dépenses ont été payés, et qui est déposé dans un compte bancaire distinct portant intérêt. Ces fonds sont retirés pour compenser les futurs déficits de fonctionnement.

Contribution minimale sous forme de recettes

Contribution minimale annuelle de la Première Nation au Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves. Le montant de cette contribution est établi au moment où nous donnons notre engagement pour l’ensemble de logements. Nous utilisons ce montant pour calculer l’aide que nous fournirons.

La contribution minimale sous forme de recettes peut provenir des droits d’occupation, d’autres sources de financement de la Première Nation ou des deux. Avec nos subventions mensuelles, c’est la base des revenus à partir desquels toutes les dépenses de l’ensemble sont payées.

La contribution minimale sous forme de recettes dépend du nombre de logements dans un ensemble et du nombre de chambres par logement. Pour plus d’informations, consultez l’annexe B de votre accord d’exploitation.

Critères de sélection des clients

Critères établis par la Première Nation pour déterminer les personnes admissibles à occuper un logement dans un ensemble d'habitation. Les critères (et tout changement) doivent être approuvés par le Conseil et transmis à la SCHL et aux membres de la communauté.

Frais de fonctionnement repères

Estimation des charges opérationnelles d’un ensemble, y compris une attribution au fonds de réserve de remplacement. Nous utilisons cette référence pour calculer la subvention maximale pour un ensemble. Elle est établie par la Première Nation au moment où nous donnons notre engagement pour l’ensemble. Elle demeure inchangée pendant toute la durée de l'accord d'exploitation. Il peut toutefois y avoir des rajustements du capital et des intérêts à cause des changements de taux d’intérêt du prêt.

Termes utilisés dans les accords d’exploitation antérieurs à 1997

Fonds de subventions excédentaires

Surplus accumulé une fois que tous les coûts et dépenses ont été payés, et qui est déposé dans un compte bancaire distinct portant intérêt. Ces fonds sont retirés pour compenser les futurs déficits de fonctionnement. Le fonds de subventions excédentaires est limité à 500 $ par logement.

Loyer proportionné au revenu

Loyer calculé en fonction du revenu du locataire. Selon cette approche, les familles aux revenus supérieurs paient davantage pour leur logement que les familles à faible revenu. Ainsi, les loyers demeurent abordables pour les familles dont le revenu du ménage est inférieur.

Loyer maximum

Le loyer maximum qui peut être exigé d'un ménage pour occuper un logement. Les hausses de loyer annuelles sont appliquées par la Première Nation. Elles sont établies d'après l’indice des prix à la consommation ou le montant requis pour payer les charges opérationnelles, selon le montant le plus élevé. Les loyers doivent être établis suite à une vérification des revenus.

Une Première Nation qui ne vérifie pas les revenus doit exiger le loyer maximal à tous les ménages. Sinon, elle peut décider de ne pas exiger de loyer des locataires. Dans ce cas, elle doit verser un montant à l’ensemble de logements égal à ce que les locataires devraient payer. Cette contribution doit être versée par la Première Nation et ne peut être inscrite comme créance au bilan.

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018