In 1997, we made several major changes to our On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program. As a result, some First Nation communities now have affordable housing units governed by 2 different sets of rules. If you’re a First Nation housing manager, it’s important to understand the impact these differences have on your on-reserve housing.

The key changes made to the Program in 1997 were related to:

  • subsidy calculations
  • rental calculations
  • replacement reserve contributions
  • replacement reserve expenditures
  • operating surpluses

How financial assistance is calculated

Before 1997, the maximum subsidy (financial assistance) provided to First Nation communities was based on the difference between 2 calculations:

  • the eligible capital costs at the mortgage interest rate
  • the eligible capital costs at a rate of 2% over 35 years

This means the maximum subsidy amount changes whenever there’s a mortgage renewal due to the changing interest rate. In addition, under the pre-1997 program, a portion of the subsidy is predetermined to help cover operating costs. This portion fluctuates over time, depending on the housing project’s operating needs.

Under the new program, the level of financial assistance available is determined at the time we commit to the project. That assistance is calculated by subtracting revenues from eligible operating costs.

Contact your local CMHC office for more advice and information on the typical duties of a First Nation housing manager.

Date Published: March 31, 2018

En 1997, nous avons apporté plusieurs changements importants à notre Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves. C'est pourquoi les logements abordables de certaines communautés des Premières Nations sont régis par deux ensembles de règles différents. Si vous gérez les habitations d'une Première Nation, vous devez comprendre l’impact de ces différences sur les logements dans votre réserve.

Les principaux changements apportés au programme en 1997 concernent :

  • le calcul de la subvention;
  • le calcul du loyer;
  • les contributions au fonds de réserve de remplacement;
  • les dépenses imputées au fonds de réserve de remplacement;
  • l’excédent de fonctionnement.

Calcul de l’aide financière

Avant 1997, la subvention maximale (aide financière) accordée aux Premières Nations était fondée sur la différence entre deux calculs :

  • le coût en capital admissible au taux d’intérêt hypothécaire;
  • le coût en capital admissible à un taux de 2 % sur une période de 35 ans.

Le montant de la subvention maximale change donc à chaque renouvellement du prêt puisque le taux d’intérêt change. De plus, selon le programme d’avant 1997, une portion de la subvention est préétablie pour aider à couvrir les charges opérationnelles. Cette portion varie en fonction des besoins opérationnels de l’habitation.

Dans le nouveau programme, l’aide financière disponible est déterminée au moment où nous donnons notre engagement. Cette aide est calculée en soustrayant les revenus des charges opérationnelles admissibles.

Contactez votre bureau local de la SCHL pour obtenir conseils ou informations sur les tâches du gestionnaire d’habitations d'une Première Nation.

Pour vous aider à préparer vos états financiers (postérieur à 1996)

Pour vous aider à préparer vos états financiers (antérieur à 1997)

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018