Are you building or renovating housing units with funding from our On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program? If so, you’ll need to send us proof that your projects are meeting all applicable safety standards.

How do I show proof of compliance?

First, you must complete a declaration form stating that all units meet:

  • National Building Code of Canada’s requirements
  • local zoning and building bylaws and regulations.

You’ll also need to send us a Certificate of Building Code Compliance at 3 different stages in the construction process:

  • pre-backfill inspection (foundation stage)
  • pre-drywall inspection (framing, rough-in and insulation/vapour barriers stage)
  • final inspection

These certificates assure us that your units have met or exceeded the National Building Code every step of the way. They should be sent to us with your declaration form, along with certified building plans and any other supporting documents.

Your First Nation is responsible for paying all costs related to code compliance inspections. However, these costs are considered eligible expenses under the On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program.

Who completes the Certificate of Building Code Compliance?

The Certificate should be completed and signed by the housing inspector who did the code compliance inspection. The housing inspector must be qualified or certified by a recognized professional industry organization.

Alternatively, you can submit your certificate and building plans with the professional seal of an engineer or architect. A professional engineer or architect is considered to be qualified to perform building code inspections. As such, their professional seal provides proof that the inspection was done by an independent qualified inspector.

How are code compliance inspections different than progress reviews?

The progress reviews done by our technical service providers have no impact on National Building Code compliance. Progress reviews are typically done so we can support loan advances. That said, some technical service providers are also qualified to do code compliance inspections. In these cases, it’s up to you to engage and pay for their services related to code compliance inspections.

Contact your First Nation Housing Specialist for more information about National Building Code compliance and reporting requirements.

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Vous construisez ou rénovez des logements grâce à des fonds de notre Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves? Si oui, vous devrez nous fournir une preuve de la conformité de vos projets à toutes les normes de sécurité applicables.

Quelles preuves de conformité dois-je fournir?

Vous devez remplir un formulaire de déclaration indiquant que tous les logements sont conformes au Code national du bâtiment. La déclaration doit aussi indiquer que vous respectez les règlements de zonage et de construction applicables.

Vous devez aussi nous fournir un Certificat de conformité au code du bâtiment aux trois étapes suivantes de la construction :

  • inspection avant le remblayage (étape des fondations);
  • inspection avant la pose des plaques de plâtre (étape de l'ossature, des canalisations, de l'isolation et du pare-vapeur);
  • inspection finale.

Ces certificats confirment que vos logements sont conformes au Code national du bâtiment à chacune des étapes. Vous devez nous les transmettre avec votre formulaire de déclaration et tout plan du bâtiment certifié et autres documents justificatifs.

Votre Première Nation doit payer tous les frais reliés aux inspections de conformité au code. Par contre, ces frais sont des dépenses admissibles au Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves.

Qui remplit le Certificat de conformité au code du bâtiment?

Le certificat doit être rempli et signé par l’inspecteur qui a fait l’inspection de conformité. L’inspecteur doit détenir un titre ou une certification délivré par un organisme professionnel reconnu.

Sinon, vous pouvez soumettre un certificat et des plans portant le sceau professionnel d’un ingénieur ou d’un architecte. Ces professionnels sont qualifiés pour faire des inspections de conformité au code du bâtiment. Le sceau professionnel constitue donc une preuve que l’inspection a été faite par un inspecteur qualifié indépendant.

Quelle est la différence entre les inspections de conformité au code et les examens d’avancement des travaux?

L'examen d’avancement des travaux qu'effectuent nos fournisseurs de services techniques n’a aucun impact sur la conformité au Code du bâtiment. En général, les examens d’avancement des travaux servent à appuyer les avances de prêts. Par contre, certains fournisseurs de services techniques sont aussi qualifiés pour faire des inspections de conformité au code. Dans ces cas, vous pouvez décider de les engager et de payer leurs services d’inspection de conformité.

Contactez votre bureau de la SCHL pour en savoir plus sur la conformité au Code du bâtiment et sur les exigences de rapport.

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018