Submissions are open for the Housing Research Scholarship Program. This program is the result of a partnership between CMHC and 3 organizations at the pinnacle of research funding in Canada. Through the Program, we provide scholarships to students conducting postdoctoral research on housing. The goals:

  • recognize excellence in early-career academic research
  • advance knowledge and application in the field of housing
  • expand the community of reliable, highly skilled and qualified researchers

An important partnership for the National Housing Strategy

Through the National Housing Strategy (NHS), we’ve set ambitious goals related to housing in Canada. To meet these goals, we’ll need the help of partners. We’ll also need greater Canadian expertise in housing research related to the NHS’s priority areas. That’s why we’ve created the Housing Research Scholarship Program and joined forces with the following partners:

Training awards of up to $120,000 available for housing research projects Housing Research Scholarship Program scholarships are available to postdoctoral fellows doing research on housing related to the NHS’s priority areas.

This year, scholarships are available for a maximum of 13 applicants. There will be up to:

  • 7 scholarships with SSHRC
  • 4 scholarships with NSERC — 2 for NHS priority areas and 2 with a specific focus on Indigenous Housing
  • 2 scholarships with CIHR-IPPH

The maximum amount awarded for a single scholarship annually for up to 2 years is:

  • $45,000 for CMHC-SSHRC Housing Research Training Awards Program
  • $45,000 for CMHC-NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowships
  • $60,000 for CIHR-IPPH Urban Housing and Health Trainee Research Awards Program

The Housing Research Scholarship Program application process occurs through the postdoctoral fellowship competitions of each of our 3 partner agencies. The application process for 2019 is currently open.

Support for the next generation of leaders in housing research

By supporting the research of Canada’s brightest postdoctoral students, we hope to help generate new housing knowledge that benefits Canadians. We also hope to support the recipients’ career development in the field of housing research.

“Through our exciting new partnership with the three federal granting agencies, we are working together to build housing research capacity through a multi-disciplinary approach, recognizing that the housing challenges we face are complex in nature and require a wide breadth of expertise to address.”
— The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development and Minister Responsible for Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
“The collaboration between Canada’s granting agencies and CMHC will support some of our brightest postdoctoral fellows as they discover new knowledge that can be applied to help Canadians access affordable, sustainable housing that meets their needs.”
— The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport

Date Published: September 4, 2019

Le concours du Programme de bourses de recherche sur le logement est maintenant ouvert. Ce programme est le fruit d’un partenariat entre la SCHL et 3 organismes subventionnaires de premier plan pour la recherche au Canada. Ce programme octroie des bourses à des étudiants qui mènent des recherches postdoctorales sur le logement. Buts visés :

  • reconnaître l’excellence en recherche en début de carrière
  • faire avancer les connaissances et leur application dans le domaine du logement
  • élargir la communauté de chercheurs fiables, hautement compétents et qualifiés

Un partenariat important pour la Stratégie nationale sur le logement

Avec la Stratégie nationale sur le logement, nous avons fixé des objectifs ambitieux pour le logement au Canada. Pour les atteindre, nous devrons pouvoir compter sur des partenaires. Nous aurons aussi besoin d’un savoir-faire accru au pays en recherche sur le logement pour les domaines d’intervention prioritaires de la Stratégie. C’est pourquoi nous avons créé le Programme de bourses de recherche sur le logement et nous sommes associés aux partenaires suivants :

Bourses de formation pouvant atteindre 120 000 $ pour des projets de recherche sur le logement

Les bourses du Programme s’adressent aux étudiants postdoctoraux qui font de la recherche sur le logement dans les domaines d’intervention prioritaires de la Stratégie.

Cette année, des bourses seront accordées à au plus 13 candidats. Voici le nombre maximal de bourses pouvant être octroyées :

  • 7 bourses du CRSH
  • 4 bourses du CRSNG, soit 2 bourses dans les domaines prioritaires de la Stratégie et 2 bourses pour le logement des Autochtones
  • 2 bourses de l’ISPP des IRSC.

Voici le montant maximal accordé annuellement par bourse de recherche pour une période d’au plus 2 ans :

  • 45 000 $ pour le Programme SCHL-CRSH de bourses pour la formation en recherche sur le logement
  • 45 000 $ pour les bourses postdoctorales SCHL-CRSNG
  • 60 000 $ pour le programme IRSC-ISPP de bourses de stage en recherche sur la santé et le logement urbain.

Le processus de demande du Programme de bourses de recherche sur le logement se déroule dans le cadre des concours de bourses postdoctorales des 3 organismes partenaires. Les demandes sont maintenant acceptées pour l’édition 2019.

Appui à la prochaine génération de leaders en recherche sur le logement

En soutenant les plus brillants chercheurs postdoctoraux du Canada, nous espérons contribuer à générer de nouvelles connaissances sur le logement dont les Canadiens pourront bénéficier. Nous souhaitons aussi soutenir le développement de carrière des boursiers dans la recherche sur le logement.

« Grâce au partenariat prometteur que nous venons de former avec les 3 organismes subventionnaires fédéraux, nous renforçons la capacité de recherche sur le logement au moyen d’une approche multidisciplinaire. Car les défis propres au logement sont complexes et exigent une vaste expertise. »
– L’honorable Jean-Yves Duclos, ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social et ministre responsable de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement
« La collaboration entre les organismes subventionnaires du Canada et la SCHL appuiera certains de nos boursiers postdoctoraux les plus brillants. Les connaissances issues de leurs recherches seront appliquées pour aider les Canadiens à accéder à un logement abordable et durable répondant à leurs besoins. »
– L’honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences et des Sports

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 4 septembre 2019