The strength Montréal’s housing market has continued to receive a lot of media attention. In our June 2018 Housing Market Insight (HMI) for Montréal, we looked at the buyer households in Greater Montréal. The goal was to learn who buys what, and where, so we could deepen our knowledge of the market.

While it’s interesting to learn about the characteristics of homebuyers, though, nearly half of Greater Montréal households rent. Our latest Montréal HMI therefore focuses on renter households.

Highlights on renter households

  • In each large geographic sector of Greater Montréal, people living alone accounted for about 50% of all renter households.
  • 35% of renter households had incomes below $30,000. The percentage rose to 60% for those with incomes below $50,000. Most of these renters were people living alone, and the results applied to the vast majority of sectors in Greater Montréal.
  • Households with incomes above $100,000 accounted for only 5% to 8% of renters in most sectors.
  • Gaps in median income between people living alone who were renters and those who bought a condominium varied between 65% and 155%. The lower incomes of certain Montréal-area renter households were therefore limiting their potential for homeownership.
  • Lower-income households generally moved less often than higher-income households. They also tended to move within the sector where they already lived. As well, there did not seem to be a significant movement of lower-income renter households to sectors of the CMA where the rents were less costly.

Focusing on renters to deepen our understanding of the housing market

Forty-five percent of households in Greater Montréal are renters. Given their demographic significance, it’s important to be aware of renter households’ characteristics.

Such data could help better design and measure the impacts of programs and policies intended for renter households. The data also complements the rental housing market information we already publish, providing a better overall view of this market.


Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: April 3, 2019

La vigueur du marché de l’habitation de Montréal continue d’attirer l’attention des médias. Dans notre numéro du Marché sous la loupe, Montréal de juin 2018, nous avons examiné les ménages acheteurs du Grand Montréal. Nous voulions savoir qui achetait quoi et où de manière à mieux comprendre le marché.

Bien qu’il soit intéressant de connaître les caractéristiques des acheteurs, il faut savoir que presque la moitié des ménages du Grand Montréal louent un logement. Notre dernier Marché sous la loupe porte donc sur les ménages locataires.

Faits saillants sur les ménages locataires

  • Dans tous les grands secteurs géographiques du Grand Montréal, les personnes vivant seules représentent environ 50 % de tous les ménages locataires.
  • Trente-cinq pour cent des ménages locataires ont des revenus inférieurs à 30 000 $. Le pourcentage monte à 60 % dans le cas des ménages ayant des revenus inférieurs à 50 000 $. La plupart de ces locataires sont des personnes vivant seules. Les résultats sont valables pour la vaste majorité des secteurs du Grand Montréal.
  • Les ménages ayant des revenus supérieurs à 100 000 $ représentent seulement de 5 à 8 % des locataires dans la plupart des secteurs.
  • Quant au revenu médian des personnes vivant seules, les écarts entre locataires et copropriétaires varient de 65 à 155 %. Les faibles revenus de certains ménages locataires de la région de Montréal limitent donc leur potentiel d’accession à la propriété.
  • En général, les ménages à faible revenu déménagent moins souvent que les ménages à revenus plus élevés. Ils ont aussi tendance à déménager dans le secteur où ils vivent déjà. De plus, il ne semble pas y avoir de déplacement important de ménages locataires à faible revenu dans les secteurs de la RMR où les loyers sont moins chers.

Se centrer sur les locataires pour mieux comprendre le marché de l’habitation

Quarante-cinq pour cent des ménages du Grand Montréal sont locataires. Compte tenu de leur poids démographique, il importe de connaître les caractéristiques des ménages locataires.

De telles données peuvent aider à mieux concevoir et mesurer les incidences des programmes et des politiques destinés aux ménages locataires. Les données complètent aussi l’information sur le marché locatif que nous avons déjà publiée, ce qui nous donne un meilleur portrait du marché.


Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 3 avril 2019