House prices, and changes in house prices, are usually the main subjects of discussion when it comes to real estate. But what about living areas? Do the sizes of living areas in residential properties differ by period of construction, and by how much?

Our latest Housing Market Insight (HMI) offers new detail on living area sizes for certain residential property types in British Columbia (B.C.), Nova Scotia and Ontario. The data, obtained through our continuing partnership with Statistics Canada, shows how living areas differ by period of construction. Studying these differences can, in turn, tell us about the future suitability of the housing stock.

Highlights on living areas

Here’s a snapshot of what we found out about living areas in B.C., Nova Scotia and Ontario:

  • The median living areas in Ontario and British Columbia are lower for properties built since 2006. This is because of shifts in the housing stock toward more compact multiple-unit dwellings (particularly condominium apartments).
  • In Nova Scotia, the median living area has remained relatively unchanged for residential properties built since 2006. Why? The majority of the province’s housing stock consists of single-detached homes. There’s been only a slight shift of the housing stock toward more multiple-unit dwellings.
  • In Toronto and Vancouver, condominium apartment units built since 2006 are smaller, while their assessment value per square foot is higher. In comparison, newly built single-detached properties are larger, while their assessment value per square foot is lower.

Affordability concerns and migration contributing to smaller condominium apartments

Toronto and Vancouver have the largest share of condominium apartment units in their respective provinces. The median size of a condominium apartment built in 2016 or 2017 in the Toronto census metropolitan area (CMA) is 650 square feet. In the Vancouver CMA, it’s 770 square feet.

For the same unit type built between 1981 and 1990, the median size is 1,070 square feet in the Toronto CMA. In the Vancouver CMA, it’s 915 square feet. Why have condominium apartments gotten smaller?

Well, immigration and income growth have increased housing demand in Toronto and Vancouver. This increased demand has put greater density pressure on the CMAs.

Condominium apartments have also been getting smaller as a result of developers’ efforts to maintain a certain level of affordability for homebuyers. Despite increasing values per square foot, condominium apartments usually have lower prices than other housing types in Toronto and Vancouver. They are therefore the easiest entry point into homeownership for first-time buyers.


Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: May 3, 2019

Les prix des logements et l’évolution des prix sont habituellement les principaux sujets de discussion quand on parle de l'immobilier. Mais qu’en est-il des surfaces habitables? Est-ce que la surface habitable des propriétés résidentielles varie selon la période de construction? Si oui, de combien?

Notre dernier Marché sous la loupe apporte un nouvel éclairage sur la superficie habitable de certains types de propriétés résidentielles en Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.), en Ontario et en Nouvelle-Écosse. Ces données, que nous avons obtenues grâce à notre partenariat avec Statistique Canada, montrent que les superficies habitables varient selon la période de construction. L’étude de ces variations peut nous permettre de savoir si le parc de logements conviendra aux besoins futurs.

Faits saillants sur les superficies habitables

Voici un aperçu de ce que nous avons trouvé au sujet des superficies habitables en C.-B., en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Ontario.

  • En Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique, la superficie habitable médiane des propriétés résidentielles construites depuis 2006 a diminué par rapport aux périodes précédentes. Cela reflète la plus grande part qu’occupent les logements collectifs, notamment les appartements en copropriété, dans la composition du parc de logements.
  • En Nouvelle-Écosse, la superficie habitable médiane des propriétés construites depuis 2006 est demeurée relativement inchangée. Pourquoi? Parce que le parc de logements de la province est majoritairement composé de maisons individuelles. Sa composition ne s’est que légèrement modifiée pour faire place à un plus grand nombre de logements collectifs.
  • À Toronto et à Vancouver, les appartements en copropriété construits depuis 2006 sont plus petits, mais leur valeur au pied carré selon l’évaluation foncière est plus élevée par rapport aux périodes précédentes. À l’inverse, les maisons individuelles de construction récente sont plus grandes, mais leur valeur au pied carré selon l’évaluation foncière a diminué.

Les préoccupations liées à l’abordabilité et à la migration contribuent à la réduction de la taille des appartements en copropriété

Toronto et Vancouver comptent la plus grande part des appartements en copropriété de leurs provinces respectives. La taille médiane d’un appartement en copropriété construit en 2016 ou en 2017 dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Toronto est de 650 pi2. Dans la RMR de Vancouver, elle est de 770 pi2.

Dans la RMR de Toronto, les appartements en copropriété construits entre 1981 et 1990 ont une taille médiane de 1070 pi2. Dans la RMR de Vancouver, celle-ci est de 915 pi2. Pourquoi les appartements en copropriété sont-ils devenus plus petits?

Tout d’abord, l’immigration et la croissance des revenus ont stimulé la demande de logements à Toronto et à Vancouver. Ce raffermissement de la demande a accru les pressions sur la densité de ces deux RMR.

Les appartements en copropriété sont aussi devenus plus petits à cause des efforts faits par les promoteurs pour maintenir un certain niveau d’abordabilité pour les acheteurs. Même si leur valeur au pied carré a augmenté, le prix des appartements en copropriété est généralement moins élevé que celui des autres types de logements à Toronto et à Vancouver. Ceux-ci représentent donc l’accès à la propriété le plus facile pour les acheteurs.


Date de publication : 3 mai 2019