The Housing Market Assessment continues to indicate a moderate degree of overall market vulnerability at the national level. However, the gap between house prices and housing market fundamental factors has narrowed over the past year.

What is CMHC’s Housing Market Assessment?

The Housing Market Assessments (HMAs), published quarterly, analyze Canada’s housing markets and give a comprehensive view of these markets’ vulnerabilities. The HMAs consider 4 main factors: overheating, price acceleration, overvaluation and overbuilding. The information and analysis provided can help Canadians make informed decisions and contribute to an orderly adjustment of housing market imbalances.

We publish a national HMA, as well as separate HMAs for 15 census metropolitan areas (CMAs).

Highlights from the national HMA released in the third quarter of 2019

The latest edition of the national HMA is based on:

  • data up to the end of March 2019
  • market intelligence up to the end of June 2019

Some highlights:

  • Overall housing market vulnerability in Vancouver has eased to “moderate”, after being rated “high” for 12 straight quarters. The main reason for this change is that evidence of price acceleration has eased to “low”.
  • Overall vulnerability remains high for Toronto, Hamilton and Victoria. However, overheating, price acceleration and overvaluation show signs of easing in all 3 CMAs.
  • Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon, Regina and Winnipeg still show a moderate degree of overall vulnerability due to continued evidence of overbuilding.
  • Ottawa, Montréal, Québec City, Moncton, Halifax and St. John’s have maintained a low degree of overall vulnerability. However, overheating persists in Montréal and Moncton, as does overbuilding in St. John’s.

The gap between house prices and fundamentals has narrowed

For the last 2 quarters, the national housing market’s degree of overall vulnerability has been rated at “moderate”, This is after 10 straight quarters at a rating of “high”.

The average estimate of overvaluation stayed near 0 over the past year, suggesting improved alignment overall between house prices and housing market fundamentals.

The gap between prices and fundamentals has narrowed. Prices continue to decline, while fundamentals are rising. In the first quarter of 2019, the inflation-adjusted MLS® average price dropped by 5.6% from the same period in 2018. This was the fifth straight decline on a year-over-year basis.

Over the same period, the young adult population grew by 1.9%, enlarging the pool of potential first-time homebuyers. Meanwhile, after declining for 2 quarters, inflation-adjusted personal disposable income edged up by 0.2%.


Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: August 1, 2019

Selon l’Évaluation du marché de l’habitation, le degré de vulnérabilité globale du marché national demeure modéré. Toutefois, l’écart entre les prix des habitations et les facteurs fondamentaux du marché a diminué durant la dernière année.

En quoi consiste l'Évaluation du marché de l’habitation de la SCHL?

Publiée tous les trimestres, l’Évaluation du marché de l’habitation (EMH) analyse les marchés du Canada et donne une vue complète de leurs vulnérabilités. Elle tient compte de 4 principaux facteurs : la surchauffe, l’accélération de la croissance des prix, la surévaluation et la construction excessive. L’information et les analyses qu'elle fournit peuvent aider les Canadiens à prendre des décisions éclairées. Elles favorisent aussi un rajustement ordonné des déséquilibres du marché de l’habitation.

Nous publions un rapport EMH national et un rapport pour chacune des 15 régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) évaluées.

Faits saillants du rapport EMH national – troisième trimestre de 2019

Le tout dernier numéro du rapport national est fondé sur :

  • les données disponibles à la fin de mars 2019;  
  • les renseignements sur le marché local disponibles à la fin de juin 2019.

Quelques faits saillants :

  • Après avoir été élevé durant 12 trimestres d’affilée, le degré de vulnérabilité globale du marché de l’habitation de Vancouver est devenu modéré. Ce changement s’explique surtout par la diminution des signes d’accélération des prix, qui sont maintenant jugés faibles.
  • Le degré de vulnérabilité globale demeure élevé pour Toronto, Hamilton et Victoria. Les signes de surchauffe, d’accélération des prix et de surévaluation semblent toutefois s’atténuer dans ces 3 centres.
  • Le degré de vulnérabilité globale reste modéré à Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon, Regina et Winnipeg, car des signes de construction excessive persistent dans ces centres.
  • À Ottawa, Montréal, Québec, Moncton, Halifax et St. John’s, le degré de vulnérabilité globale demeure faible. Par contre, il existe toujours des signes de surchauffe à Montréal et à Moncton et des signes de construction excessive à St. John’s.

Diminution de l’écart entre les prix des habitations et les facteurs fondamentaux

Pour le deuxième trimestre de suite, le degré de vulnérabilité globale du marché de l’habitation national est jugé « modéré ». Auparavant, il avait reçu la cote « élevé » pendant 10 trimestres d’affilée.

L’estimation moyenne de la surévaluation se maintient près de zéro depuis un an. C’est signe d’une meilleure concordance entre les prix des habitations et les facteurs fondamentaux du marché.

L’écart a diminué entre les prix des habitations et les facteurs fondamentaux. Les prix continuent de baisser, tandis que les facteurs fondamentaux se raffermissent. Au premier trimestre de 2019, le prix MLS® moyen corrigé de l’inflation a reculé de 5,6 % par rapport à un an plus tôt. C’est sa cinquième baisse de suite en glissement annuel.

Parallèlement, la population des jeunes adultes s’est accrue de 1,9 % et a donc fait augmenter le bassin d’éventuels acheteurs d’un premier logement. Enfin, le revenu personnel disponible corrigé de l’inflation a progressé de 0,2 %, après avoir diminué deux trimestres de suite.


Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 1 août 2019