CMHC’s latest Housing Market Insight on the Montréal area examines vacant residential land and its effect on the area’s housing market. This Insight first looks at the amount of vacant residential land available in several sectors of Greater Montréal. It then explores the relationship between the supply of vacant land, the value of such land, house prices and residential construction. Some highlights:

  • The Island of Montréal accounts for a third of Greater Montréal, but only had 7% of the area’s vacant residential land in 2014.
  • As expected, the scarcity of vacant land on the Island had an impact on the land’s value. Land value in 2015 for a single-family home ranged from $10 to $20 per square foot in parts of the North Shore and South Shore. On the Island, where land was scarcer, the price easily surpassed $100 in some central sectors.
  • Land value was also reflected in house prices. On the North Shore and South Shore, the average price of a single-family home was between $280,000 and $295,000 in 2015. On the Island, it was over $500,000.

After giving an overview of the current status of vacant land in Montréal, we take a more historical turn. More specifically, we look at the evolution of land values on the Island of Montréal since the mid-1990s. Our analysis gives an interesting picture of the impact rising land values have had on house prices across the Island.

A final case study comparing Granby and Drummondville reinforces the links between the supply of vacant land, house prices and residential construction.



Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: May 16, 2018

Le marché sous la loupe – Montréal

La SCHL vient de publier son dernier rapport Le marché sous la loupe pour Montréal. Elle y analyse la situation des terrains résidentiels vacants et ses effets sur le marché immobilier de cette région. Son rapport examine d’abord la quantité de terrains vacants disponibles dans plusieurs secteurs du Grand Montréal. Il explore ensuite la relation entre l’offre de terrains vacants, leur valeur, les prix des logements et la construction résidentielle. Quelques faits saillants :

  • L’île représente le tiers du territoire du Grand Montréal, mais elle ne possédait que 7 % des terrains résidentiels vacants de la région en 2014.
  • Comme prévu, la rareté des terrains vacants sur l’île de Montréal a eu un impact sur leur valeur. Pour une maison unifamiliale, le prix d’un terrain en 2015 variait de 10 à 20 $ le pied carré dans certains secteurs des couronnes nord et sud. Sur l’île de Montréal, où les terrains sont plus rares, le prix pouvait facilement dépasser les 100 $ le pied carré dans certains secteurs centraux.
  • La valeur des terrains se reflétait aussi sur le prix des habitations. Dans les couronnes nord et sud, le prix moyen des maisons unifamiliales oscillait entre 280 000 et 295 000 $ en 2015. Sur l’île de Montréal, il dépassait 500 000 $.

En plus de donner un aperçu de la situation actuelle des terrains vacants à Montréal, nous présentons une perspective historique. Plus spécifiquement, nous nous penchons sur l’évolution de la valeur des terrains sur l’île de Montréal depuis le milieu des années 1990. Notre analyse dresse un portrait intéressant des impacts qu’a eus l’appréciation des terrains sur les prix des habitations partout sur l’île.

Les résultats d’une étude de cas, où l’on compare la situation de Granby à celle de Drummondville, viennent renforcer les liens entre l’offre de terrains vacants, les prix des habitations et la construction résidentielle.



Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 16 mai 2018