Housing Market Insight — Québec

Principal residences are both the biggest asset and biggest debt for many households in the province of Quebec. Because of high house prices, principal residences accounted for a full 28.1% of Quebec households’ assets in 2016. But how have changing house prices and homeownership rates affected households’ net worth over time?

CMHC’s latest Housing Market Insight for the province looks to provide answers to this question. Using Statistics Canada’s Survey of Financial Security, 2016, we explore changes in households’ net worth from 1999 to 2016.

Highlights

  • Quebec households’ net worth grew by 81.8% from 1999 to 2016. Principal residences were a big part of this increase. Why? Because the share of total assets they accounted for grew, while the share of total debts they accounted for decreased.
  • During the period, house prices grew significantly. The homeownership rate also grew, although to a lesser extent. These 2 factors caused the share of Quebec households’ total assets accounted for by principal residences to grow, too.
  • Still, from 1999 to 2016, Quebec households saw lower growth in their average net worth than all Canadian households together. This is partly because the homeownership rate and growth in house prices were relatively lower in Quebec.
  • Households aged 65 and over were the age group with the greatest decrease in their rate of principal residence ownership. This is because retired households increasingly moved back to the rental market from 1999 to 2016.

Digging deeper

As far as we know, this Insight is the only study fully analyzing the role of principal residences in Quebec households’ net worth. We look at the principal residence as both an asset and as a liability. This approach lets us go beyond the classic debt analysis. We put the rise in households’ mortgage debt in perspective with the increase in the value of their residence.





Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: October 3, 2018

Le marché sous la loupe – Québec

Pour beaucoup de ménages québécois, la résidence principale est à la fois l’actif le plus important et la principale dette. Les prix des habitations étant élevés, la résidence principale représentait 28,1 % de l’actif total des ménages québécois en 2016. Mais les prix des logements et le taux de propriétaires ont évolué au fil du temps. Quel effet ont-ils eu sur la valeur nette des ménages?

Dans son dernier numéro du Marché sous la loupe de la province du Québec, la SCHL tente de répondre à cette question. Les données de l’Enquête sur la sécurité financière, 2016, menée par Statistique Canada ont servi de base pour notre étude. Voici ce qui est ressorti de notre analyse de l’évolution de l’actif net des ménages de 1999 à 2016.

Faits saillants

  • La valeur nette des ménages québécois a augmenté de 81,8 % de 1999 à 2016. Les résidences principales ont beaucoup contribué à cette hausse. Pourquoi? Parce que leur part de l’actif total a augmenté tandis que leur part de la dette totale a diminué.
  • Les prix des habitations ont connu une forte croissance de 1999 à 2016. Le taux de propriétaires s’est accru lui aussi, mais dans une moindre mesure. Résultat : la part des résidences principales dans l’actif total des ménages québécois a augmenté.
  • Cependant, les ménages québécois ont connu une croissance de leur valeur nette moyenne moins importante que l’ensemble des ménages du Canada. C’est en partie parce que le taux de propriétaires et la hausse des prix des logements ont été plus faibles au Québec.
  • La plus forte baisse du taux de propriétaires d’une résidence principale a été enregistrée chez les ménages de 65 ans et plus. Elle s’explique par le retour graduel des ménages retraités vers le marché locatif de 1999 à 2016.

Une analyse approfondie

À notre connaissance, cette étude est la seule qui analyse pleinement l’impact des résidences principales sur la valeur nette des ménages au Québec. Nous abordons la résidence principale à la fois comme un actif et un passif. Cette approche permet de sortir de l’analyse classique de l’endettement. Nous mettons ainsi en perspective la hausse de la dette hypothécaire avec la valeur de la résidence des ménages.





Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 3 octobre 2018