Housing Market Insight — Ontario

The behaviour of home prices has a very strong influence on financial and economic stability. A strong reminder of this: the recent recession, which began in the U.S. in 2008 before spreading to other countries.

In recent years, home prices in some major centres in Ontario have grown at rates well above historical averages. This has led to overvaluation1, where prices exceed what fundamental indicators like population, income and interest rates would support.

About 40%2 of all Ontario household assets are tied up in households’ principal residence. In addition, Ontario households have been borrowing against their home equity. This is clear in home equity line of credit (HELOC) balances, which have been rising over the past few years. A significant downturn in prices could therefore have severe negative effects on the broader Ontario economy and financial system.

In this CMHC Housing Market Insight, we take a close look at Ontario home prices. More specifically, we try to answer this question: Are Ontario home prices going through a correction, or a bust phase? For the purposes of the report, a bust phase is defined as a more serious correction:

  • that lasts at least 4 quarters
  • during which there is a minimum cumulative 10% drop in inflation-adjusted prices

In this report, we look at both fundamental and technical indicators to come to our conclusion. Fundamental indicators include:

  • the stage of the economic cycle
  • growth in incomes
  • population
  • interest rates
  • balance between demand and supply

Technical indicators, meanwhile, are tools that help forecast future price movements by examining only past price movements.

1CMHC Housing Market Assessment, 2018 Q1
2Statistics Canada’s Survey of Financial Security, 2016



Date Published: June 14, 2018

Le Marché sous la loupe – Ontario

L’évolution du prix des habitations influence beaucoup la stabilité financière et économique. Nous en avons eu la preuve lors de la dernière récession, qui a débuté aux États-Unis en 2008 et s’est propagée à d’autres pays.

Ces dernières années, la croissance des prix des habitations a nettement dépassé les moyennes historiques dans certains grands centres de l’Ontario. Cela a entraîné une surévaluation1. Autrement dit, les prix ont dépassé les facteurs fondamentaux, comme la population, le revenu et les taux d’intérêt.

La résidence principale représente environ 40 %2 de l’actif des ménages ontariens. De plus, ceux-ci ont emprunté en utilisant la valeur nette de leur habitation. Les soldes des marges de crédit hypothécaires ont d’ailleurs augmenté ces dernières années. Une chute des prix pourrait donc avoir des effets négatifs importants sur les systèmes économiques et financiers de l’Ontario.

Dans ce Marché sous la loupe, la SCHL se penche sur les prix des habitations en Ontario. Plus précisément, nous cherchons à répondre à cette question : les prix des logements en Ontario sont-ils dans une phase de correction ou d’effondrement? Aux fins du rapport, une période d’effondrement ou de chute des prix se définit comme une correction importante :

  • qui dure au moins 4 
  • où la baisse cumulative des prix corrigés de l’inflation est d’au moins 10 %.

Dans ce rapport, nous utilisons des indicateurs fondamentaux et techniques pour en arriver à notre conclusion. Les indicateurs fondamentaux comprennent :

  • l’étape du cycle économique;
  • la croissance des revenus;
  • la population;
  • les taux d’intérêt;
  • l’équilibre entre l’offre et la demande.

Les indicateurs techniques sont des outils permettant de prévoir l’évolution future des prix uniquement à l’aide des fluctuations historiques des prix.

1 SCHL, Évaluation du marché de l’habitation, premier trimestre de 2018
2 Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la sécurité financière, 2016



Date de publication : 14 juin 2018