In 2019 and 2020, Canada’s housing markets should see a moderation in both housing starts and sales. House prices, meanwhile, should reach levels more in line with economic fundamentals like income, employment and population growth.

Those are some of the key takeaways from CMHC’s just-released 2018 Housing Market Outlook (HMO) for Canada. Like previous editions of the national HMO, the latest edition looks ahead, providing a forecast of Canada’s housing markets for the next 2 years.

Looking more specifically at 2019, we expect:

  • total housing starts to range from 193,700 to 204,500
  • Multiple Listing Service (MLS®) sales to range from 478,400 to 497,400
  • the average MLS® price to range from $501,400 to $521,600

Housing starts, 2018 – 2020

Starts are forecast to slow gradually over the next 2 years, coming down from the 10-year peak recorded in 2017. Economic fundamentals, such as income, employement and household formation, will continue to support new residential construction. Their growth will, however, slow, and housing starts will therefore become more closely aligned with them by the end of 2020.

MLS® sales, 2018 – 2020

After reaching record levels in 2016, MLS® sales declined in 2017. In 2018, sales should continue to moderate, before rising slightly in 2019. Slower growth in the fundamentals, as well as gradually increasing mortgage rates, will, however, keep the increase in check by restraining demand for existing homes through to 2020.

MLS® price growth, 2018 – 2020

Growth in the average MLS® price has been strong over the past 2 years. This growth has been driven by increased sales of higher-end single-detached homes in certain major markets. However, over the course of 2018, this effect has faded. As a result, and because of higher borrowing costs and slower income growth, MLS® price growth should slow this year. By 2020, we expect demand to continue shifting to less expensive housing options. This shift, along with slowing fundamentals, will keep growth in the average MLS® price at modest levels.


Date Published: November 6, 2018

En 2019 et 2020, les mises en chantier et les ventes se modéreront sur les marchés canadiens de l’habitation, selon nos prévisions. Les prix devraient être plus en phase avec les facteurs économiques fondamentaux, comme la croissance du revenu, de l’emploi et de la population.

Voilà entre autres ce qui ressort du rapport national Perspectives du marché de l’habitation 2018 que la SCHL vient de publier. Comme les précédents, ce rapport jette un regard prospectif sur les marchés du Canada en présentant des prévisions sur 2 ans.

En 2019, nous prévoyons que :

  • les mises en chantier d'habitations se chiffreront entre 193 700 et 204 500;
  • le nombre de ventes MLS® (Multiple Listing Service®) s’établira entre 478 400 et 497 400;
  • le prix MLS® moyen se situera entre 501 400 et 521 600 $.

Mises en chantier d’habitations, 2018 - 2020

Les mises en chantier devraient ralentir graduellement de 2018 à 2020 par rapport à leur sommet de 2017, le plus haut en 10 ans. Les facteurs économiques fondamentaux, dont le revenu, l’emploi et la création de ménages, continueront de soutenir la construction résidentielle. Ils verront toutefois leur croissance ralentir, et les mises en chantier d’habitations suivront : elles seront plus en phase avec ces facteurs d’ici la fin de 2020.

Ventes MLS®, 2018 - 2020

Après avoir atteint des records en 2016, les ventes MLS® ont diminué en 2017. En 2018, elles devraient continuer de ralentir, avant d’augmenter légèrement en 2019. Par contre, la croissance réduite des facteurs fondamentaux, conjuguée à la remontée graduelle des taux hypothécaires, limitera leur hausse, car elle minera la demande de logements existants d’ici 2020.

Croissance du prix MLS®, 2018 - 2020

La croissance du prix MLS® moyen a été forte au cours des 2 dernières années. Elle a été alimentée par la hausse des ventes de maisons individuelles de prix supérieurs conclues dans certains grands marchés. Mais durant l’année 2018, cet effet s’est estompé. En conséquence, et vu la hausse des coûts d’emprunt et la moindre augmentation du revenu, la croissance du prix MLS® devrait ralentir cette année. D’ici 2020, nous prévoyons que la demande de logements continuera de se déplacer vers les segments relativement abordables. Ce changement, conjugué au ralentissement des facteurs fondamentaux, maintiendra la croissance du prix MLS® moyen à des niveaux modestes.


Date de publication : 6 novembre 2018