The CMHC Housing Market Assessment (HMA) is an analytical framework that provides a comprehensive view of vulnerabilities to housing market instability in Canada. It assesses 4 main factors: overheating, price acceleration (or “price growth acceleration”), overvaluation and overbuilding.

Highlights from the national HMA — fourth quarter of 2018

  • The HMA continues to indicate a high degree of overall vulnerability at the national level. However, with house prices moderating, conditions of overvaluation are easing for Canada as a whole.
  • The HMA still detects overvaluation in Vancouver, Victoria, Toronto and Hamilton. Still, house prices are moving closer to levels supported by housing market fundamentals. All these centres continue to exhibit a high degree of overall vulnerability.
  • Evidence of overbuilding remains high in Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon and Regina. As a result, these centres continue to receive a moderate degree of vulnerability in the overall assessment.
  • Ottawa, Québec City, Moncton, Halifax and St. John’s maintained a low degree of overall vulnerability. In these centres, house prices continue to follow the path of fundamentals.
  • The Montréal resale market is close to overheating, creating significant upward pressure on prices. This is a result of a sharp tightening between supply and demand.
  • Winnipeg’s results are most notable. There, evidence of overbuilding and the degree of overall vulnerability changed from low to moderate. These changes reflect increases in the inventory of newly completed but unsold units.

Lower house prices: several factors at play

As mentioned in the first highlight, house prices are declining, leading the HMA to detect easing overvaluation nationally. Indeed, from the second quarter of 2017 to the same quarter in 2018, the inflation-adjusted MLS® average price dropped by 8.7%. What are the factors that have led to these lower prices?

Stricter mortgage rules, rising interest rates and slower growth in personal disposable income likely lowered housing demand. This, in turn, would have caused prices to fall. A decrease in sales of more expensive single-detached homes has also been causing the MLS® average price to decline.

Lastly, the number of young adults has increased. The members of this segment of the population are largely first-time homebuyers. As such, we can say that house prices are more in line with the fundamental factors.

Still, two more quarters of improved alignment between house prices and fundamentals are required before the HMA rates overvaluation as low at the national level. For this reason, the moderate rating of overvaluation is maintained for now.


Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: October 25, 2018

L’Évaluation du marché de l’habitation (EMH) de la SCHL fournit une vue complète des vulnérabilités qui menacent la stabilité du marché de l’habitation. Ce cadre analytique examine 4 principaux facteurs : surchauffe, accélération de la croissance des prix, surévaluation et construction excessive.

Faits saillants du rapport EMH national – quatrième trimestre de 2018

  • Selon l’EMH, le degré de vulnérabilité globale du marché demeure élevé à l’échelle nationale. Toutefois, parce que la croissance des prix des habitations ralentit, les conditions de surévaluation s’atténuent dans l’ensemble du Canada.
  • Des signes de surévaluation sont toujours détectés à Vancouver, Victoria, Toronto et Hamilton. En revanche, les prix des logements se rapprochent des niveaux dictés par les facteurs fondamentaux du marché de l’habitation. Dans tous ces centres, le degré de vulnérabilité globale reste élevé.
  • Les signes de construction excessive sont toujours élevés à Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon et Regina. En conséquence, ces centres continuent de présenter un degré modéré de vulnérabilité selon l’évaluation globale.
  • Un degré faible de vulnérabilité globale est maintenu pour Ottawa, Québec, Moncton, Halifax et St. John’s. Dans ces centres, les prix des logements demeurent conformes aux facteurs fondamentaux.
  • À Montréal, le marché de la revente frôle la surchauffe, ce qui exerce de fortes pressions à la hausse sur les prix. Cette conjoncture fait suite à un resserrement marqué de l’écart entre l’offre et la demande.
  • Les résultats pour Winnipeg sont les plus notables. Les signes de construction excessive et le degré de vulnérabilité globale y sont passés de faibles à modérés. Ces changements s’expliquent par l’augmentation des stocks de logements achevés récemment et invendus.

Baisse des prix des habitations : plusieurs facteurs en sont à l’origine

Le premier fait saillant le souligne : parce que les prix des logements diminuent, la surévaluation s’atténue au Canada selon l’EMH. En effet, au deuxième trimestre de 2018, le prix MLS® moyen corrigé de l’inflation a reculé de 8,7 % par rapport au même trimestre de 2017. Quels sont les facteurs ayant contribué à cette baisse des prix?

Règles plus strictes de l’assurance prêt hypothécaire, hausse des taux d’intérêt et croissance réduite du revenu personnel disponible. Voilà les facteurs qui ont probablement fait fléchir la demande de logements et entraîné la baisse des prix des habitations. La diminution des ventes de maisons individuelles de prix élevé a aussi contribué à la baisse du prix MLS® moyen.

Enfin, le nombre de jeunes adultes a augmenté. Ces membres de la population sont en grande majorité des accédants à la propriété. Ainsi, nous pouvons dire que les prix des habitations sont plus en phase avec les facteurs fondamentaux.

Malgré cela, la surévaluation ne peut pas encore être jugée faible à l’échelle nationale. Pour ce faire, il faudra que la concordance entre les prix des logements et les facteurs fondamentaux s’améliore pendant 2 autres trimestres. La cote de surévaluation modérée est donc maintenue à l’échelle nationale pour l’instant.


Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 25 octobre 2018