Buying a home is a major financial commitment for most Canadians. It’s not surprising then that housing affordability is a top concern for homebuyers. In fact, according to the 2018 Mortgage Consumer Survey, price/affordability was the number one factor homebuyers considered when buying a home.

Here’s a breakdown of what you need to know about homebuyers and affordability, powered by the 2018 Mortgage Consumer Survey.

Before buying a home

While conducting our survey, we learned that 23% of those currently renting a home were renting because they couldn’t afford to buy.

Costs were a concern for first-time buyers. Of those buying a home for the first time, 58% had concerns or uncertainty related specifically to unforeseen costs. Plus, almost 1 in 5 first-time buyers (19%) were involved in a bidding war. These additional costs can add stress and financial pressure during the homebuying process.

Cost of homeownership

When it comes to the cost of homeownership, 85% of first-time buyers and 68% of repeat buyers spent the maximum they could afford on their home. About 1 in 5 homebuyers even said they paid more than they’d planned to. Nearly half (49%) of homebuyers made a down payment of less than 20% because they didn’t have enough for a larger payment.

One quarter of homebuyers ran into unexpected costs when buying. Additionally, about 1 in 5 homebuyers indicated that their level of debt was higher than expected.

Proper planning and budgeting can make a big difference when it comes to buying a home and being a homeowner. However, the Survey showed that only 76% of first-time buyers and 62% of repeat buyers had a monthly budget. Meanwhile, an even smaller percentage had a monthly buffer for unexpected expenses (64% of first-time buyers and 59% of repeat buyers).

Feelings about costs

Despite their concerns, 71% of homebuyers were comfortable with their current level of debt. Sixty-four percent even indicated that, if they ran into financial difficulties, they had other assets they could use to meet their needs. A further 81% were confident they would be able to make their future mortgage payments.

Seventy-six percent of homebuyers felt they had the necessary tools and information to manage their mortgage and debt load. Still, looking back, 31% of mortgage consumers wished they had more information on what to do when they ran into financial difficulties.

CMHC supporting Canadians

CMHC’s Homebuying Step by Step Guide helps Canadians look at their housing options, expected costs and personal financial situation. The goal: to help them decide whether homeownership is right for them.

CMHC also supports housing affordability through Canada’s National Housing Strategy — a 10 year, $40 billion plan that will help make housing affordable for Canadians.


Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: November 27, 2018

L’achat d’une habitation est un engagement financier majeur pour la majorité des Canadiens. Pas étonnant, donc, que l’abordabilité du logement figure parmi les plus grandes préoccupations des acheteurs. En fait, selon l’Enquête 2018 auprès des emprunteurs hypothécaires, le prix ou l’abordabilité est le premier facteur pris en compte dans un projet d’achat.

Voici un résumé de ce que vous devez savoir sur les propriétaires de logements et l’abordabilité, selon l’Enquête 2018 auprès des emprunteurs hypothécaires.

Avant l’achat

En réalisant notre enquête, nous avons découvert que 23 % des locataires actuels louaient à défaut d’avoir les moyens d’acheter.

Les coûts préoccupaient les accédants à la propriété. Parmi les répondants qui achetaient leur première habitation, 58 % s’inquiétaient ou s’interrogeaient au sujet des coûts imprévus. Près de 1 sur 5 (19 %) étaient pris dans une guerre de surenchère. Ces coûts supplémentaires peuvent accroître le stress et les pressions financières durant le processus d’achat.

Coût de la possession d’une habitation

Selon l’enquête, 85 % des accédants à la propriété et 68 % des acheteurs déjà propriétaires ont payé le prix maximal qu’ils pouvaient se permettre pour leur habitation. Environ 1 acheteur sur 5 a même dit avoir payé plus cher que prévu. Et près de la moitié (49 %) ont versé une mise de fonds inférieure à 20 % parce qu’ils ne pouvaient pas payer plus.

Le quart des acheteurs de logements ont dû payer des coûts imprévus dans leur processus d’achat. En outre, environ 1 sur 5 ont indiqué que leur niveau d’endettement était plus élevé que prévu.

Une bonne planification et un budget bien pensé peuvent faire toute la différence quand on achète un logement et devient propriétaire. Mais selon l’enquête, seulement 76 % des accédants et 62 % des acheteurs déjà propriétaires avaient un budget mensuel. En outre, un pourcentage encore moins grand avaient un coussin pour les dépenses mensuelles imprévues (64 % des accédants et 59 % des acheteurs déjà propriétaires).

Au sujet des coûts

Malgré leurs préoccupations, 71 % des acheteurs de logements étaient à l’aise avec leur dette actuelle. Même que, selon 64 % d’entre eux, ils avaient la possibilité d’utiliser d’autres actifs pour répondre à leurs besoins en cas de problèmes financiers. De plus, 81 % des acheteurs avaient confiance en leur capacité de faire leurs paiements hypothécaires à venir.

Enfin, 76 % des propriétaires estimaient avoir les outils et les renseignements nécessaires pour gérer leur prêt hypothécaire et leur dette. Par contre, 31 % des emprunteurs hypothécaires ont dit qu’ils auraient aimé avoir reçu plus d’information sur les mesures à prendre en cas de difficultés financières.

La SCHL soutient les Canadiens

Le guide L’achat d’une maison étape par étape de la SCHL aide les Canadiens à examiner leurs options de logement, à prévoir les coûts et à évaluer leur situation financière. L’objectif : les aider à décider si l’achat d’une habitation est le bon choix pour eux.

La SCHL favorise aussi l’abordabilité au Canada au moyen de la Stratégie nationale sur le logement – un plan de 40 milliards de dollars sur 10 ans qui aidera à rendre les logements plus abordables pour les Canadiens.


Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 27 novembre 2018