Housing Market Insight — London

By examining transactional data from the London and St. Thomas Association of Realtors (LSTAR), this report addresses the following questions:

  • How has demand from the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) influenced London’s resale market?
  • Did a high level of repeat sales contribute to the strong sales activity recorded in London in 2017?

Homebuyers from the GTA purchased an increasing number of high-priced single-detached homes in the London census metropolitan area (CMA) in 2017. These buyers contributed significantly to the record level of MLS® sales and rapid price growth recorded for the first half of that year. In addition, as sales activity and price growth increased, repeat sales in London’s resale market became more pronounced. This is because a higher proportion of homes were being purchased and sold in less than a year.

Highlights

  • A higher level of demand spilled over from the GTA to the London CMA in the first quarter of 2017. This was especially true for homes in the higher price categories. GTA buyers accounted for 9% of all transactions and 20% of transactions for homes priced over $450,000. This was a substantial increase from the general trend, as GTA buyers accounted for only 3% of transactions between 2015 and 2016.
  • Purchase activity by GTA buyers was concentrated in the City of London, especially in North and South London. It was quite limited in other areas of the London CMA.
  • Overall, strong GTA demand and GTA buyers’ higher propensity to purchase expensive homes contributed to record MLS® sales and rapid price acceleration.

A high level of repeat sales was also a contributing factor to strong sales activity in 2017. Many homes were purchased at a low price in less expensive areas in 2016 and resold for large gross profits (average of 22%, or $49,027) in under a year.



Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: May 10, 2018

Le marché sous la loupe – Montréal

Ce rapport examine des données sur les transactions de la London and St. Thomas Association of Realtors (LSTAR) pour répondre à deux questions :

  • Comment la demande provenant de la région du Grand Toronto (RGT) a-t-elle influencé le marché de la revente de London?
  • Les nombreuses ventes répétées ont-elles contribué à la vigueur de l’activité du marché de London en 2017?

Les acheteurs de la RGT ont acquis un nombre croissant de maisons individuelles chères dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de London en 2017. Ces acheteurs  y sont pour beaucoup dans le nombre record de ventes MLS® et la forte hausse des prix au premier semestre de 2017. Et avec l’accélération des ventes et des prix, les ventes répétées à London se sont multipliées. En effet, une proportion accrue de logements ont été achetés et revendus en moins d’un an.

Faits saillants

  • Au premier trimestre de 2017, la demande de logements de la RGT a davantage débordé sur le marché de la RMR de London. Ce débordement accru était surtout évident du côté des habitations de prix élevé. Les acheteurs de la RGT représentaient 9 % des transactions et ont acheté 20 % des habitations de plus de 450 000 $. Il s’agit là d’une forte augmentation par rapport à la tendance générale : à peine 3 % des transactions en 2015 et 2016 étaient attribuables à des acheteurs de la RGT. 
  • Les acheteurs de la RGT étaient concentrés dans la ville de London, surtout dans North London et South London. Leur présence a été très limitée dans les autres secteurs de la RMR.
  • La forte demande des acheteurs de la RGT et la propension de ces derniers à acheter des habitations chères ont contribué aux ventes MLS® records et à la forte accélération des prix.

Les nombreuses ventes répétées ont aussi contribué à la vigueur de l’activité en 2017. Beaucoup d’habitations achetées à faible prix dans des secteurs moins chers du marché en 2016 ont été revendues avec des profits bruts élevés (22 % en moyenne, équivalant à 49 027 $) moins d’un an plus tard.



Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 10 mai 2018