In April, the national trend in housing starts remained stable at historically elevated levels, with lower starts of single-detached dwellings offsetting higher starts of multi-unit dwellings. Notably, the national inventory of newly completed and unabsorbed multi-unit dwellings has been stable over the same period, indicating that demand for this type of unit has absorbed increased supply.

The trend in housing starts was 225,696 units in April 2018, compared to 226,942 units in March 2018, according to Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC). This trend measure is a six-month moving average of the monthly seasonally adjusted annual rates (SAAR) of housing starts.

Monthly Highlights

Vancouver

Housing starts in the Vancouver Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) continued their strong trend throughout April. Year-to-date starts were up for both single and multi-family units as builders continue to maintain a high level of under construction inventory in response to high demand in the apartment and condominium markets. The City of Vancouver and the North Shore have seen the strongest activity so far in 2018.

Kelowna

Housing starts activity in the Kelowna CMA picked up significantly in April, driven in large part by the multi-unit segment. The recovery in housing starts activity, almost rivalling the record starts seen in April 2017, was the result of some large apartment rental and condo projects getting underway. Multi-unit housing demand, both rental and ownership, remains strong in the Kelowna CMA, while vacancy rates and homes listed for sale remain low.

Saskatoon

The pace of total housing starts slowed further in April after construction in both single-detached and multi-family sectors trended lower from the previous month. Year-to-date housing starts in Saskatoon were down by 36%, compared to the same period of 2017.

London

In April, starts in the London CMA trended higher for the first time in five months. Rental apartment starts proved to be the most notable engine of growth this month, followed by single-detached and row starts. Although starts have moved off their recent peak, they remain in the vicinity of decade highs. Strong spillover demand from a tight resale market has kept new construction robust.

Toronto

The total housing starts trend in the Toronto CMA remained virtually unchanged in April. High house prices continued to deter buyers from purchasing single, semi-detached and townhome pre-construction units, and this lower demand has resulted in fewer starts for these types of units. Conversely, condominium apartments’ relative affordability continues to fuel their demand. As a result, the first quarter of 2018 saw the most apartment starts recorded in a quarter in over 40 years.

Kingston

Housing starts in Kingston trended higher in April, as more single-detached and multi-unit housing starts, including rental apartments, got underway. In fact, builders have started more rental projects for the third month in a row in anticipation of stronger rental demand from students and an aging population. Kingston’s vacancy rate at 0.7% in fall 2017 was the lowest among 16 Ontario CMAs.

Montréal

Housing starts increased sharply in the Montréal CMA in April, thanks to the start of construction on a number of large condominium projects and rental properties. From January to April, a 20-year record number of condominiums and rental units were started. The strength of the job market, which is supporting housing demand, combined with both the small number of condominiums for sale and the area’s low rental apartment vacancy rate are likely encouraging developers to build many new units.

New Brunswick

While housing starts in the province increased in April compared to the same month last year, New Brunswick has seen its slowest first four months in 20 years. Year-to-date, total housing starts were 41% lower compared to the first four months of 2017 due to a decline in multiples housing starts.

PEI

A low vacancy rate paired with continued in-migration to the Charlottetown area is driving demand for multiple units so far in 2018. The volatile multiple segment was up considerably on the inclusion of recent new project construction activity. 




Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: May 8, 2018

Mises en chantier

En avril, la tendance nationale des mises en chantier d’habitations est restée stable à un niveau historiquement élevé : le nombre limité de mises en chantier de maisons individuelles a compensé celui élevé de logements collectifs. En particulier, le stock national de logements collectifs nouvellement achevés et invendus est demeuré stable au cours de la même période, ce qui indique que la demande pour ce type de logements a absorbé l’offre accrue.

La tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations se chiffrait à 225 696 en avril 2018, comparativement à 226 942 le mois précédent, selon la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL). Cette tendance correspond à la moyenne mobile de six mois du nombre mensuel désaisonnalisé et annualisé (DDA) de mises en chantier d’habitations.

Faits saillants du mois d’avril

Vancouver

Dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Vancouver, les mises en chantier d’habitations ont continué d’afficher une forte tendance à la hausse tout au long du mois d’avril. Le cumul annuel des mises en chantier de maisons individuelles et de logements collectifs est à la hausse parce que les constructeurs maintiennent un stock élevé en réaction à la forte demande d’appartements et de copropriétés. Jusqu’à ce jour en 2018, la ville de Vancouver et North Shore ont connu la plus forte activité.

Kelowna

Les mises en chantier se sont redressées considérablement dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Kelowna en avril, soutenues largement par le segment des logements locatifs. La reprise de l’activité, qui égale presque le record des mises en chantier d’avril 2017, est attribuable à la mise en chantier de certains gros ensembles d’appartements locatifs et de copropriétés. La demande de logements collectifs, tant sur le marché locatif et que sur le marché de la propriété, demeure forte dans la RMR de Kelowna, tandis que les taux d’inoccupation et les inscriptions sur le marché de la revente restent faibles.

Saskatoon

Le rythme des mises en chantier d’habitations a ralenti en avril puisque, par rapport au mois précédent, l’activité a diminué dans les segments des maisons individuelles et des logements collectifs. À Saskatoon, le cumul annuel des mises en chantier a diminué de 36 %, comparativement à la même période l’an dernier.

London

En avril, la tendance des mises en chantier dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de London était à la hausse pour la première fois en cinq mois. Les mises en chantier d’appartements locatifs ont été les plus importantes ce mois-ci, suivies par celles des maisons individuelles et des maisons en rangée. Même si les mises en chantier se sont éloignées du sommet atteint récemment, elles demeurent aux alentours des niveaux record de la décennie. La forte demande découlant d’un marché de la revente tendu a maintenu la construction résidentielle vigoureuse.

Toronto

En avril, la tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Toronto est demeurée relativement inchangée. Les prix élevés des logements ont continué de dissuader les acheteurs d’acheter sur plan des maisons individuelles, jumelées et en rangée, ce qui a fait diminuer le nombre de mises en chantier de ces types d’habitations. À l’inverse, l’abordabilité relative des appartements en copropriété continue de stimuler la demande. Par conséquent, au premier trimestre de 2018, on a enregistré le plus grand nombre de mises en chantier d’appartements au cours d’un trimestre en 40 ans.

Kingston

La tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations à Kingston a connu une hausse en avril, étant donné qu’un nombre accru de maisons individuelles et de logements collectifs, y compris des appartements locatifs, a été commencé. En fait, les constructeurs ont mis en chantier plus d’ensembles locatifs pour un troisième mois de suite en prévision d’une demande forte de la part des étudiants et de la population vieillissante. Le taux d’inoccupation à Kingston de 0,7 % à l’automne 2017 était le plus faible parmi les 16 RMR de l’Ontario.

Montréal

Les mises en chantier ont fortement augmenté au mois d’avril dans la RMR de Montréal, en raison du démarrage de plusieurs grands projets de copropriétés et d’immeubles locatifs. Entre janvier et avril, le segment des copropriétés et des logements locatifs a atteint un niveau record depuis les vingt dernières années. La vigueur de l’emploi qui soutient la demande immobilière, combinée au faible nombre de copropriétés à vendre, ainsi qu’au faible taux d’inoccupation des appartements locatifs sur le territoire montréalais, incite vraisemblablement les promoteurs à construire plusieurs nouvelles unités.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Même si les mises en chantier ont augmenté dans la province au mois d'avril, par rapport au même mois de l’année précédente, le Nouveau-Brunswick a connu ses quatre premiers mois les plus lents en 20 ans. Le cumul annuel des mises en chantier a diminué de 41 %, comparativement à celui des quatre premiers mois de 2017, en raison du recul des mises en chantier de logements collectifs.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le faible taux d'inoccupation et l’afflux continu de nouveaux arrivants dans la région de Charlottetown ont stimulé la demande de logements collectifs jusqu'ici en 2018. Caractérisé par de grandes variations, le segment des logements collectifs s'est considérablement accru avec l'achèvement de récents projets de construction



Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 8 mai 2018