Housing Starts

The national trend in housing starts stood at a 19-month low in September, following declines in four of the last five months. The slowdown in the pace of new residential construction activity in recent months is a result of both lower single-detached and multi-starts activity and brings new residential construction closer to its long run average from the elevated levels registered in 2017.

The trend in housing starts was 207,768 units in September 2018, compared to 213,966 units in August 2018, according to Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC). This trend measure is a six-month moving average of the monthly seasonally adjusted annual rates (SAAR) of housing starts.

Monthly Highlights

Vancouver

Housing starts in the Vancouver Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) trended lower in September 2018 as fewer projects in both the single-detached and multi-family sectors got underway. Construction activity for the month was concentrated in Surrey, which accounted for one quarter of all starts. Demand for housing from residents remains strong and has resulted in the pace of new home construction in the Vancouver CMA so far in 2018 equaling the level recorded during the first nine months of 2017.

Kelowna

The trend measure for housing starts in the Kelowna CMA moderated in the month of September as a result of a pullback in new construction activity in both the single-detached and multi-unit segments. In the first nine months of 2018, while new construction activity has declined relative to the record pace of housing starts seen in the same period of 2017, it remains significantly above the 10-year average.

Saskatoon

The trend measure of total housing starts increased in September after both single-detached and multi-family starts trended higher. However, overall new home construction in the Saskatoon CMA declined by 17% through September from a year ago reflecting lower single-detached starts.

Winnipeg

Total housing starts in Winnipeg continued to trend higher in September. A number of new condominium projects were started this month. After nine months, multi-family starts are 3% above the level of last year at this time. However, total housing starts remain 5% below last year’s production as rising inventories of single-detached units have slowed activity in this segment of the market.

Toronto

Total housing starts trended higher in September, as the decline in the single-detached starts trend was more than offset by rising multi-unit starts. Multi-unit starts were strong across unit types, led by semi-detached units saw the most starts for the month of September since 2004. The relative affordability of these higher-density units continues to fuel their demand.

St. Catharines-Niagara

For the first time in four months, St. Catharines-Niagara CMA housing starts trended higher, mainly due to the apartment sector. New single-detached construction continued to slow, reaching the lowest monthly level in seven years. A more balanced resale market and higher mortgage borrowing costs have dampened housing demand particularly for relatively expensive single-detached homes.

Brantford

In Brantford, single-detached starts slowed for the first month since January. As a result the pace of overall starts in September also slowed considerably, since most new homes in Brantford are single-detached. Single-detached starts have already far surpassed their annual totals from each of the previous ten years.

Province of Québec

In Québec, the trend of housing starts decreased in the third quarter. However, the year-to-date total is slightly higher than that of the first nine months of 2017, due to the strength of Montréal CMA rental apartment starts.

Halifax

Total housing starts in Halifax trended higher in September, impacted by continued strength in apartment construction. Improving employment levels and strong population gains are supporting a growing rental market demand with multiples starts expanding by 21% this month, year-over-year. After remaining flat for the past two months, single-detached starts also picked up pace in September, increasing by 11% compared to last year.



Date Published: October 9, 2018

Mises en chantier

En septembre, la tendance nationale des mises en chantier d'habitations a touché son plus bas niveau en 19 mois, après avoir diminué durant quatre des cinq derniers mois. Le ralentissement du rythme de la construction résidentielle ces derniers mois résulte de la diminution de l’activité dans les segments des maisons individuelles et des logements collectifs. Il ramène les mises en chantier d'habitations plus près de leur moyenne à long terme, après les niveaux élevés d’activité enregistrés en 2017.

La tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations s’est chiffrée à 207 768 en septembre 2018, comparativement à 213 966 en août 2018, selon la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL). Cette tendance correspond à la moyenne mobile de six mois du nombre mensuel désaisonnalisé et annualisé de mises en chantier d’habitations.

Faits saillants mensuels

Vancouver

Dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Vancouver, la tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations était à la baisse en septembre 2018, car les constructeurs ont commencé moins de maisons individuelles et de logements collectifs. La construction en septembre a été concentrée dans le secteur de Surrey, où se trouve le quart des logements mis en chantier durant le mois. La demande reste forte sur le marché de l’habitation de la RMR de Vancouver, si bien que le rythme de la construction résidentielle jusqu’à présent cette année égale celui des neuf premiers mois de 2017.

Kelowna

La tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations s’est modérée en septembre dans la RMR de Kelowna, en raison du repli de la construction de maisons individuelles et de logements collectifs. Durant les neuf premiers mois de 2018, l’activité a ralenti par rapport au rythme record de la même période en 2017, mais elle demeure nettement supérieure à la moyenne sur 10 ans.

Saskatoon

La tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations s’est accrue en septembre dans la RMR de Saskatoon, puisqu’elle a augmenté dans les segments des maisons individuelles et des logements collectifs. Mais pour les mois de janvier à septembre, la construction résidentielle a diminué de 17 % par rapport à la même période en 2017, reflet de la baisse des mises en chantier de maisons individuelles.

Winnipeg

À Winnipeg, la tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations est demeurée à la hausse en septembre. Un certain nombre d’ensembles de logements en copropriété ont été commencés durant le mois. Après neuf mois d’activité, le cumul annuel des mises en chantier de logements collectifs dépasse de 3 % celui de la fin septembre 2017. Malgré cela, il s’est commencé 5 % moins d’habitations au total cette année, car la hausse des stocks de maisons individuelles a modéré l’activité dans ce segment.

Toronto

La tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations a augmenté en septembre, la baisse accusée du côté des maisons individuelles ayant été plus qu’annulée par la hausse dans le segment des logements collectifs. Les mises en chantier de logements collectifs ont été vigoureuses dans toutes les catégories, mais tout particulièrement dans celle des jumelés, où elles ont connu leur meilleur mois de septembre depuis 2004. L’abordabilité relative de ces maisons, qui forment des ensembles à plus forte densité, continue d’en stimuler la demande.

St. Catharines-Niagara

Pour la première fois en quatre mois, la tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations a augmenté dans la RMR de St. Catharines-Niagara, surtout en raison du segment des appartements. La construction de maisons individuelles a continué de ralentir; elle a touché son plus bas niveau mensuel en sept ans. Le marché de la revente plus équilibré et la hausse des coûts d’emprunt hypothécaire ont pesé sur la demande, particulièrement du côté des maisons individuelles relativement chères.

Brantford

À Brantford, les mises en chantier de maisons individuelles ont accusé leur première baisse mensuelle depuis janvier. Le rythme global des mises en chantier d’habitations a donc lui aussi beaucoup ralenti en septembre, la majorité des habitations qui se construisent à Brantford étant des maisons individuelles. Quant au nombre de maisons individuelles commencées jusqu’à présent cette année, il dépasse déjà le total annuel de chacune des 10 dernières années.

Province de Québec

Au Québec, le rythme des mises en chantier résidentielles a diminué au troisième trimestre. Cependant, le bilan des neuf premiers mois est légèrement en hausse par rapport à la même période en 2017, et ce,  grâce à la vigueur du marché de la RMR de Montréal, où le nombre de nouveaux chantiers d’appartements locatifs demeure soutenu cette année.

Halifax

La tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations à Halifax a augmenté en septembre, soutenue par le dynamisme persistant de la construction d’appartements. L’amélioration des niveaux d’emploi et les gains démographiques importants favorisent la demande croissante de logements locatifs. De fait, les mises en chantier de logements collectifs ont augmenté de 21 % en septembre par rapport à un an plus tôt. Après avoir fait du sur-place durant deux mois, les mises en chantier de maisons individuelles ont elles aussi repris de la vigueur en septembre : elles se sont accrues de 11 % en glissement annuel.




Date de publication : 9 octobre 2018