Housing Starts

The national trend in housing starts continued to decline in August from the historical peak that was recorded in March 2018. This moderation brings total starts closer to historical averages, largely reflecting recent declines in the trend of multi-unit starts from historically elevated levels earlier in the year.

The trend in housing starts was 214,598 units in August 2018, compared to 219,656 units in July 2018. This trend measure is a six-month moving average of the monthly seasonally adjusted annual rates (SAAR) of housing starts.

Monthly Highlights

Vancouver

Housing starts in the Vancouver Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) trended higher in August 2018 as more multi-family projects got underway across the region. The cities of Vancouver and Burnaby led the way and accounted for over half of starts during the month due to a number of new condominium apartment projects. Demand for housing from residents remains strong and has resulted in the pace of new home construction so far in 2018 moving ahead of the level recorded during the first eight months of 2017.

Kelowna

Despite a very strong August for housing starts in the Kelowna CMA, the first 8 months of 2018 have seen a decrease of 29% in the single-detached segment and 28% in the multi-unit segment, relative to the record year of housing construction seen in 2017. Despite this decrease in construction activity, the pace of housing starts in 2018 remains well above the 10-year average.

Edmonton

The trend measure for housing activity in the Edmonton CMA moved upward significantly in August, driven by an increase in new construction of multi-unit dwellings. Despite the rebound in construction activity in August, housing starts in the first 8 months of the year remain approximately 7% below the pace of activity of the same period in 2017, as builders deal with elevated inventories of completed and unsold units.

Winnipeg

Total housing starts trended higher for the second consecutive month. Total housing starts increased by almost a third in August 2018 compared to a year earlier as condominium and rental apartment construction both increased. Declining inventories have supported new construction.

Toronto

Total housing starts trended lower mainly due to fewer condominium apartment and single-detached home starts. Rising prices and land constraints have pulled back sales of pre-construction single-detached units over the past several years resulting in fewer single-detached starts so far in 2018 when compared to the same period in 2017. However, strong pre-construction sales of condominium apartments over the past couple of years have led to a higher level of condominium starts on a year-to-date basis, despite the pull-back in August.

Oshawa

Total housing starts trended higher in the Oshawa CMA, due to higher trending multi-family dwelling starts, particularly row units. August recorded the most actual row unit starts for the month in almost three decades. While demographic and economic conditions remain favourable, higher house prices in Toronto and surrounding areas continue to increase the popularity of relatively more affordable higher density housing in Oshawa.

Windsor

Housing construction in Windsor continues to rebound from a slow first half in 2018. The trend in new housing construction grew for the third month in a row, with greater multi-unit construction driving the increase. Year-to-date housing starts were down by 27% compared to the same period last year, as the extraordinary levels of activity seen in 2017 eased and moved closer to levels consistent with economic fundamentals.

Kingston

The August trend in Kingston CMA total housing starts declined slightly for the first time in the past five months. Yet, it remained close to the high level seen during the last year. This strength comes off the heels of a strong year for housing starts in 2017 and thus far robust starts in 2018. Demand likely has been supported by the relative affordability of all dwelling types compared to other Ontario CMAs.

Saguenay

In August 2018, year-to-date housing starts in the Saguenay CMA were up over the same period last year. However, the trends differed depending on the intended markets. In fact, in the freehold (single- and semi-detached) home segment, an increase in starts was recorded, likely supported by renewed growth in full-time employment. Conventional rental housing construction was down, particularly because of a relatively high vacancy rate and a net migration deficit.

Halifax

While construction activity on the single-detached market remained stable year-over-year, multiples starts this month have more than doubled the levels recorded last August. Year-to-date, multiples construction has outpaced the same period in 2017 by 7%, with rental market demand continuing to be impacted by growth in international and interprovincial migration into the Halifax CMA.

New Brunswick

The trend in total housing starts in New Brunswick was up in August. Construction of multi-unit buildings has led the way so far in 2018 increasing by 13% year-to-date. Single housing starts were the highest for the month of August since 2015 and have increased 9% year-to-date.




Date Published: September 11, 2018

Mises en chantier

En août, la tendance nationale des mises en chantier d'habitations a continué de diminuer par rapport à son sommet historique de mars 2018. Cette modération de l’activité ramène le niveau des mises en chantier d'habitations plus près des moyennes historiques. Elle s’explique largement par les baisses récentes de la tendance des mises en chantier de logements collectifs par rapport à ses niveaux historiquement élevés du début de l’année.

La tendance des mises en chantier d’habitations se chiffrait à 214 598 en août, comparativement à 219 656 en juillet. Cette tendance correspond à la moyenne mobile de six mois du nombre mensuel désaisonnalisé et annualisé de mises en chantier d’habitations.

Faits saillants du mois d’août

Vancouver

Dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Vancouver, la tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations a augmenté en août 2018, grâce au nombre accru d’ensembles de logements collectifs ayant été commencés dans la région. Les villes de Vancouver et de Burnaby arrivent en tête; plus de la moitié des logements mis en chantier en août dans la RMR se trouvent dans ces deux villes, où les constructeurs ont ouvert de nouveaux chantiers d’immeubles d’appartements en copropriété. La demande de logements demeure forte dans la RMR, si bien que le rythme de la construction résidentielle jusqu’à présent cette année dépasse le total des huit premiers mois de 2017.

Kelowna

Malgré la vigueur des mises en chantier d'habitations en août dans la RMR de Kelowna, le cumul annuel à la fin du mois accusait une baisse de 29 % du côté des maisons individuelles et de 28 % du côté des logements collectifs, par rapport aux chiffres records de 2017. Malgré cette diminution, le rythme des mises en chantier d'habitations en 2018 demeure nettement au-dessus de la moyenne sur 10 ans.

Edmonton

Dans la RMR d’Edmonton, la tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations a fortement augmenté en août, stimulée par la hausse de la construction de logements collectifs. Malgré ce regain d’activité en août, le cumul des huit premiers mois de l’année demeure environ 7 % inférieur à celui de la même période en 2017, les constructeurs ayant dû composer avec des stocks élevés de logements achevés et invendus.

Winnipeg

La tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations a augmenté pour le deuxième mois de suite. Le nombre total de mises en chantier d'habitations s’est accru de près du tiers en août 2018 par rapport à un an plus tôt, l’activité ayant augmenté du côté des appartements en copropriété et des appartements locatifs. La baisse des stocks a favorisé la construction résidentielle.

Toronto

La tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations a diminué, surtout en raison du recul accusé par les mises en chantier d’appartements en copropriété et de maisons individuelles. La hausse des prix et l’offre limitée de terrains ont fait baisser les ventes sur plan de maisons individuelles ces dernières années, d’où le repli du cumul annuel des mises en chantier dans ce segment par rapport au total de la fin août 2017. Cependant, le nombre élevé de ventes sur plan d’appartements en copropriété ces deux dernières années a fait augmenter le cumul annuel des mises en chantier de copropriétés, malgré la baisse du mois d’août.

Oshawa

Dans la RMR d’Oshawa, la tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations a augmenté en août, car la tendance était à la hausse dans le segment des logements collectifs, surtout du côté des maisons en rangée. Le nombre réel de mises en chantier de maisons en rangée en août a atteint cette année un niveau inégalé en près de 30 ans. La conjoncture économique et démographique demeure favorable, mais les prix élevés des logements à Toronto et alentour continuent de faire croître la popularité des logements plus abordables, situés dans des ensembles de densité élevée, à Oshawa.

Windsor

Après avoir été lente au premier semestre de 2018, la construction résidentielle continue de reprendre de la vigueur à Windsor. La tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations a augmenté pour le troisième mois de suite, grâce à la construction de logements collectifs. Le cumul annuel des mises en chantier d'habitations accuse une baisse de 27 % par rapport à celui des huit premiers mois de 2017, la vigueur exceptionnelle de l’activité en 2017 ayant cédé la place à un rythme d’activité plus conforme aux facteurs économiques fondamentaux.

Kingston

En août, la tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations dans la RMR de Kingston a légèrement diminué pour la première fois en cinq mois. Cependant, elle est restée près de son niveau élevé de la dernière année. En effet, cette forte activité fait suite à des mises en chantier vigoureuses en 2017 et toujours robustes en 2018. La demande dans la région a probablement été soutenue par l’abordabilité relative des logements, tous types confondus, par rapport aux autres RMR de l’Ontario.

Saguenay

À la fin août 2018, le cumul annuel des mises en chantier d'habitations dans la RMR de Saguenay a augmenté par rapport à un an plus tôt. Par contre, les tendances ont divergé selon le marché visé. Du côté des logements en propriété absolue (maisons individuelles et jumelés), les mises en chantier ont augmenté, sans doute grâce à la reprise de la croissance de l’emploi à temps plein. Du côté des logements locatifs traditionnels, la construction a diminué, surtout en raison du taux d’inoccupation relativement élevé et du déficit migratoire.

Halifax

Les mises en chantier de maisons individuelles sont restées stables en août par rapport au même mois en 2017, tandis que celles de logements collectifs ont plus que doublé. La construction de logements collectifs jusqu’à présent cette année dépasse de 7 % le total des mois de janvier à août 2017. La croissance de la migration internationale et interprovinciale vers la RMR de Halifax continue d’influencer la demande de logements locatifs.

Nouveau-Brunswick

La tendance des mises en chantier d'habitations au Nouveau-Brunswick était à la hausse en août. Le segment des logements collectifs mène le bal jusqu’à présent cette année, le cumul annuel des mises en chantier s’y étant accru de 13 %. Quant aux mises en chantier de maisons individuelles, elles ont connu cette année leur meilleur mois d’août depuis 2015, et leur cumul annuel a augmenté de 9 %.



Date de publication : 11 septembre 2018