The CMHC Housing Market Assessment (HMA) is an analytical framework that provides a comprehensive view of vulnerabilities to housing market instability in Canada. It assesses 4 main factors: overheating, price acceleration (also known as “price growth acceleration”), overvaluation and overbuilding.

Our latest HMA results are based on data from the first quarter of 2018 and market intelligence as of the end of June 2018. Here are the highlights:

  • For the eighth straight quarter, the HMA showed a high degree of housing market vulnerability at the national level. This vulnerability was due to the detection of price acceleration and overvaluation.
  • Housing markets in Victoria, Vancouver, Toronto and Hamilton remain highly vulnerable because of price acceleration and overvaluation. We detected especially high evidence of overvaluation in Vancouver, Victoria and Toronto where house prices remain higher than levels supported by economic and demographic fundamentals.
  • The degree of overall vulnerability remains moderate for Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon and Regina. Housing markets in these centres continue to show evidence of overbuilding.
  • Our overall assessment of Montréal showed a low degree of vulnerability. However, house prices continue to grow rapidly in certain neighborhoods. If this strong growth were to persist, we could signal price acceleration in a future HMA report.

Winnipeg, Ottawa, Québec City, Moncton, Halifax and St. John’s continue to receive a low rating of vulnerability, overall. However, evidence of overvaluation has changed from low to moderate for Winnipeg, as home prices continued to rise while real personal disposable income declined.



Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: July 26, 2018

L’Évaluation du marché de l’habitation (EMH) fournit une vue complète des vulnérabilités qui menacent la stabilité du marché canadien. Ce cadre analytique de la SCHL évalue quatre principaux facteurs : la surchauffe, l’accélération de la croissance des prix, la surévaluation et la construction excessive.

Les plus récents résultats de l’EMH ont été obtenus à partir des données du premier trimestre de 2018. Ils sont aussi fondés sur les renseignements sur le marché disponibles à la fin de juin 2018. Voici les faits saillants du rapport :

  • Selon l’EMH, le degré de vulnérabilité global du marché canadien de l’habitation demeure élevé pour le huitième trimestre d’affilée. Cette situation est attribuable à la présence de signes d’accélération des prix et de surévaluation.
  • Le degré de vulnérabilité global demeure élevé à Victoria, Vancouver, Toronto et Hamilton en raison des signes d’accélération des prix et de surévaluation. Nous avons détecté des signes particulièrement élevés de surévaluation à Vancouver, Victoria et Toronto. Les prix des logements dans ces trois marchés continuent de dépasser le niveau dicté par les facteurs économiques et démographiques fondamentaux.
  • Le degré de vulnérabilité global reste modéré à Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon et Regina. Des signes de construction excessive persistent sur ces marchés de l’habitation.
  • Le degré de vulnérabilité global est faible sur le marché de Montréal. Les prix des logements continuent toutefois d’augmenter rapidement dans certains quartiers. Si cette forte hausse devait persister, nous pourrions signaler une accélération des prix dans un prochain rapport EMH.

Globalement, les marchés à Winnipeg, Ottawa, Québec, Moncton, Halifax et St. John’s continuent de présenter un degré faible de vulnérabilité. Par contre, les signes de surévaluation sont passés de faibles à modérés sur le marché de Winnipeg. Ce changement s’explique par les prix des logements qui ont continué d’augmenter, alors que le revenu personnel disponible réel a diminué.



Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 26 juillet 2018