The Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, in collaboration with Statistics Canada, is releasing today the core housing need figures from the 2016 Census. Data indicate that the proportion of Canadian households in housing need has remained stable since 2006. In 2016, the rate of core housing need in Canada stood at 12.7%, representing 1.7M households.

Statistics Canada’s data tables on core housing need

Historical core housing need rate, Canada (source: Census 1991 – 2016, NHS 2011)

Historical core housing need rate, Canada (source: Census 1991 – 2016, NHS 2011)

Text Version

Historical core housing need rate, Canada (source: Census 1991 – 2016, NHS 2011)
1991 1996 2001 2006 2011 2016
Canada 13.6% 15.6% 13.7% 12.7% 12.5% 12.7%

Core housing need is the indicator used in Canada1 to identify households not living in, and not able to access, acceptable housing. It describes households living in dwellings considered inadequate in condition, not suitable in size, and unaffordable.

  • Housing is adequate when it does not require major repairs according to its residents.
  • Housing is suitable when it has enough bedrooms for the size and make-up of resident households, according to the National Occupancy Standard (NOS)2.
  • Housing is deemed affordable when its shelter costs3 represent less than 30 per cent of before-tax household income.

A household is in core housing need if its housing is unsuitable, inadequate or unaffordable, and if its income is such that it cannot afford alternative4 housing in the local market.

Table 1: Number and proportion of households in core housing need, Canada, Provinces and territories5 (Source: Census 2006, 2016, NHS 2011)
Households in core housing need (Number) Proportion of households in core housing need
2006 2011 2016 2006 2011 2016
Canada 1,494,395 1,552,140 1,693,775 12.7% 12.5% 12.7%
Newfoundland and Labrador 27,310 22,945 22,495 14.2% 11.4% 10.5%
Prince Edward Island 6,430 4,945 4,875 12.6% 9.2% 8.5%
Nova Scotia 43,760 46,285 49,450 12.1% 12.5% 12.8%
New Brunswick 29,360 29,570 27,715 10.3% 9.9% 9.0%
Quebec 324,590 348,485 305,590 10.6% 10.8% 9.0%
Ontario 627,530 616,930 748,310 14.5% 13.4% 15.3%
Manitoba 46,920 43,405 51,130 11.3% 10.3% 11.4%
Saskatchewan 40,835 47,355 51,755 11.8% 13.2% 13.4%
Alberta 119,050 137,485 164,275 10.1% 10.7% 11.4%
British Columbia 221,470 247,285 260,220 14.6% 15.4% 14.9%
Yukon 1,875 1,885 2,160 16.3% 14.6% 15.2%
Northwest Territories 2,390 2,215 2,255 17.5% 15.7% 15.5%
Nunavut 2,870 3,355 3,545 37.3% 39.3% 36.5%

 

While the proportion of Canadian households living in unacceptable housing conditions has remained stable over the last ten years, different trends exist among provinces and territories. Between 2011 and 2016, housing conditions have worsened in the Prairies region and Ontario, and improved in British Columbia, Quebec and most of the Atlantic region. Core housing need was prevalent in the territories; the rate in Nunavut remained the highest in the country at 36.5%.

The proportion of Ontarian households with unacceptable housing has significantly increased; close to 1 in 7 households were in core housing need in 2016, an increase of 130,000 households in absolute numbers compared to 2011. The proportion of households in core housing need also rose in Manitoba, reaching 11.4%. Even with a decrease since 2011, the core housing need rate in British Columbia remained one of the highest in Canada, at 14.9%. The situation for Quebec households has improved by the largest proportion among provinces, bringing the overall rate to a historical low of 9.0%, an absolute reduction of more than 40,000 households compared to 2011.

 

Table 2: Dimensions of Housing Need by Tenure in 2016 (Source: Census 2016)
All households Renter Owner
Number Rate Number Rate Number Rate
Total — Need criteria 1,693,775 1,119,910 573,865
Below one housing standard 1,435,815 84.8% 930,575 83.1% 505,245 88.0%
Affordability only 1,288,315 76.1% 836,770 74.7% 451,540 78.7%
Suitability only 72,100 4.3% 59,955 5.4% 12,140 2.1%
Adequacy only 75,405 4.5% 33,845 3.0% 41,560 7.2%
Below multiple housing standards 257,955 15.2% 189,335 16.9% 68,620 12.0%
Affordability and suitability 104,910 6.2% 83,530 7.5% 21,380 3.7%
Affordability and adequacy 129,125 7.6% 85,730 7.7% 43,395 7.6%
Suitability and adequacy 11,510 0.7% 9,490 0.8% 2,015 0.4%
Affordability, suitability, and adequacy 12,415 0.7% 10,585 0.9% 1,830 0.3%

 

Affordability, especially for renters, remained a key challenge for Canadians. Census data indicate that, except for Alberta, the provinces that experienced an increase in core housing need also saw average shelter costs grow faster than average incomes.

 

Table 3: Top-10 Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) with the highest proportion of core housing need in 2016, by tenure
All households
Number Rate
Toronto 384,280 19.1%
Vancouver 156,810 17.6%
Belleville 6,390 15.4%
Peterborough 7,220 15.1%
Barrie 10,100 14.4%
Victoria 21,750 14.2%
Kingston 9,265 14.2%
Brantford 7,130 14.0%
St. Catharines - Niagara 22,665 13.9%
London 27,390 13.9%

 

Close to 1 in 5 households in Toronto lived in core housing need, ranking as the Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) with the highest incidence in Canada. 36.3% of renter households in Toronto were in core housing need in 2016. Except for Vancouver and Victoria, all of the other CMAs with the highest incidence of core housing need were located in Ontario.

Additional core housing need visualization tools are available on Statistics Canada’s Census Program Data Viewer. CMHC will continue to release detailed data tables and analysis as they become available in the coming weeks and months.


1 The universe of households tested for core housing need includes only private non-farm, non-band, non-reserve households with income greater than zero and shelter-cost-to-income ratio (STIR) less than 100%.

2 The NOS establishes that enough bedrooms consists in one bedroom for each cohabiting adult couple; unattached household member 18 years of age and older; same-sex pair of children under age 18; and additional boy or girl in the family, unless there are two opposite sex children under 5 years of age, in which case they are expected to share a bedroom. A household of one individual can occupy a bachelor unit (i.e. a unit with no bedroom).

3 For renters, shelter costs include rent and any payment in electricity, fuel, water, and other municipal services. For home owners, shelter costs include mortgage payments (principal and interests), property taxes and any condominium fees, along with payment for electricity, fuel, water and other municipal services.

4 The concept of alternative housing is defined as median local shelter cost, based rent levels and utilities for housing meeting the three standards, representing 30 per cent of the household’s before-tax income.

5 CMHC and Statistics Canada use different definitions of on-reserve (where on-reserve households are not examined for core housing need). As a result, historic household counts in Yukon and Saskatchewan will differ slightly between CMHC and Statistics Canada, where the difference in on-reserve counts occur.

More information on concepts and Census variables is available in Statistic Canada’s Census dictionary.


Discover related content using the tags below:

Date Published:: November 14, 2017

La Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, en collaboration avec Statistique Canada, publie aujourd’hui les chiffres relatifs aux besoins impérieux en matière de logement tirés du Recensement de 2016. Les données indiquent que la proportion des ménages canadiens se trouvant dans cette situation est demeurée stable depuis 2006. En 2016, elle s’établissait à 12,7 %, ce qui représente 1,7 million de ménages.

Tableaux de données de Statistique Canada sur les besoins impérieux en matière de logement

Figure 1 – Proportion historique des ménages éprouvant des besoins impérieux en matière de logement, Canada (sources : Recensements 1991 - 2016, ENM 2011)

Figure 1 – Proportion historique des ménages éprouvant des besoins impérieux en matière de logement, Canada (sources : Recensements 1991 - 2016, ENM 2011)

Version texte

Proportion historique des ménages éprouvant des besoins impérieux en matière de logement, Canada (sources : Recensements 1991-2016, ENM 2011)
1991 1996 2001 2006 2011 2016
Canada 13,6 % 15,6 % 13,7 % 12,7 % 12,5 % 12,7 %

Les besoins impérieux en matière de logement sont un indicateur utilisé au Canada1 pour désigner les ménages qui ne vivent pas dans un logement acceptable et sont incapables de s’en procurer un. Il s’agit de ménages habitant un logement considéré comme n’étant pas de qualité convenable ou de taille convenable ou qui est inabordable.

  • Un logement est de qualité convenable si, de l'avis de ses occupants, il ne nécessite pas de réparations majeures.
  • Un logement est de taille convenable si le nombre de chambres est suffisant compte tenu de la taille et de la composition du ménage, au sens des définitions figurant dans la Norme nationale d'occupation (NNO)2.
  • Un logement est abordable si les frais de logement3 représentent moins de 30 % du revenu avant impôt du ménage qui l’occupe.

Un ménage éprouve des besoins impérieux en matière de logement s’il occupe une habitation qui n’est pas de taille ou de qualité convenable, ou qui est inabordable, et si son revenu ne lui permet pas de se procurer un logement acceptable4 sur le marché local.

Tableau 1 – Nombre et proportion des ménages éprouvant des besoins impérieux de logement, Canada, provinces et territoires5 (sources : Recensements 2006 et 2016, ENM 2011)
Nombre de ménages ayant des besoins impérieux Proportion des ménages ayant des besoins impérieux
2006 2011 2016 2006 2011 2016
Canada 1 494 395 1 552 140 1 693 775 12,7 % 12,5 % 12,7 %
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 27 310 22 945 22 495 14,2 % 11,4 % 10,5 %
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 6 430 4 945 4 875 12,6 % 9,2 % 8,5 %
Nouvelle-Écosse 43 760 46 285 49 450 12,1 % 12,5 % 12,8 %
Nouveau-Brunswick 29 360 29 570 27 715 10,3 % 9,9 % 9,0 %
Québec 324 590 348 485 305 590 10,6 % 10,8 % 9,0 %
Ontario 627 530 616 930 748 310 14,5 % 13,4 % 15,3 %
Manitoba 46 920 43 405 51 130 11,3 % 10,3 % 11,4 %
Saskatchewan 40 835 47 355 51 755 11,8 % 13,2 % 13,4 %
Alberta 119 050 137 485 164 275 10,1 % 10,7 % 11,4 %
Colombie-Britannique 221 470 247 285 260 220 14,6 % 15,4 % 14,9 %
Yukon 1 875 1 885 2 160 16,3 % 14,6 % 15,2 %
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 2 390 2 215 2 255 17,5 % 15,7 % 15,5 %
Nunavut 2 870 3 355 3 545 37,3 % 39,3 % 36,5 %

 

La proportion des ménages canadiens dont les conditions de logement sont inacceptables est restée stable au cours des 10 dernières années, mais on observe des tendances différentes selon les provinces et les territoires. Entre 2011 et 2016, les conditions de logement se sont détériorées dans les Prairies et en Ontario, alors qu’elles se sont améliorées en Colombie-Britannique, au Québec et dans la majeure partie de la région de l’Atlantique. Les besoins impérieux prédominaient dans les territoires : la proportion du Nunavut est restée la plus élevée du pays, à 36,5 %.

En Ontario, le pourcentage des ménages occupant un logement inacceptable a nettement augmenté : près d’un ménage sur sept éprouvait des besoins impérieux en 2016, soit 130 000 ménages de plus, en chiffres absolus, qu’en 2011. Cette proportion s’est également accrue au Manitoba, où elle a atteint 11,4 %. Même s’il diminue depuis 2011, le pourcentage des ménages de Colombie-Britannique ayant des besoins impérieux en matière de logement reste l’un des plus élevés au Canada, à 14,9 %. Le Québec est la province où la situation des ménages s’est le plus améliorée : la proportion globale est descendue à un creux historique de 9,0 %, ce qui représente, en chiffres absolus, une réduction de plus de 40 000 ménages par rapport à 2011.

 

Tableau 2 – Ampleur des besoins en matière de logement selon le mode d’occupation en 2016 (source : Recensement de 2016)
Tous les ménages Locataires Propriétaires
Nombre P. cent Nombre P. cent Nombre P. cent
Total des ménages ayant des besoins impérieux 1 693 775   1 119 910   573 865
Logements inférieurs à une norme 1 435 815 84,8 % 930 575 83,1 % 505 245 88,0 %
Abordabilité seulement 1 288 315 76,1 % 836 770 74,7 % 451 540 78,7 %
Taille seulement 72 100 4,3 % 59 955 5,4 % 12 140 2,1 %
Qualité seulement 75 405 4,5 % 33 845 3,0 % 41 560 7,2 %
Logements inférieurs à plusieurs normes 257 955 15,2 % 189 335 16,9 % 68 620 12,0 %
Abordabilité et taille 104 910 6,2 % 83 530 7,5 % 21 380 3,7 %
Abordabilité et qualité 129 125 7,6 % 85 730 7,7 % 43 395 7,6 %
Taille et qualité 11 510 0,7 % 9 490 0,8 % 2 015 0,4 %
Abordabilité, taille et qualité 12 415 0,7 % 10 585 0,9 % 1 830 0,3 %

 

L’abordabilité demeure un défi important au Canada, en particulier pour les locataires. Les données du Recensement indiquent que, à l’exception de l’Alberta, les provinces où les besoins impérieux se sont accrus ont aussi vu les frais de logement moyens augmenter plus rapidement que le revenu moyen.

 

Tableau 3 – Les 10 régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) enregistrant les plus forts pourcentages de ménages éprouvant des besoins impérieux en matière de logement en 2016, selon le mode d’occupation
Tous les ménages
Nombre
Pourcentage
Toronto 384 280 19,1 %
Vancouver 156 810 17,6 %
Belleville 6 390 15,4 %
Peterborough 7 220 15,1 %
Barrie 10 100 14,4 %
Victoria 21 750 14,2 %
Kingston 9 265 14,2 %
Brantford 7 130 14,0 %
St, Catharines - Niagara 22 665 13,9 %
London 27 390 13,9 %

 

À Toronto, près d’un ménage sur cinq éprouve des besoins impérieux en matière de logement, ce qui fait de l’agglomération torontoise la RMR où cette situation est la plus fréquente au Canada. À Toronto, 36,3 % des ménages locataires avaient des besoins impérieux en matière de logement en 2016. Exception faite de Vancouver et de Victoria, toutes les autres RMR enregistrant les plus fortes proportions de besoins impérieux se trouvent en Ontario.

D’autres outils de visualisation des informations sur les besoins impérieux en matière de logement se trouvent dans le visualiseur de données du Programme de recensement de Statistique Canada. Dans les semaines et les mois à venir, la SCHL continuera de publier des analyses et des tableaux de données détaillés au fur et à mesure de leur disponibilité.


1 L’univers des ménages pris en considération en vue d’évaluer les besoins impérieux en matière de logement ne comprend que les ménages privés non agricoles, non membres d’une bande et vivant hors réserve, qui ont un revenu positif et dont le rapport frais de logement-revenu (RFLR) est inférieur à 100 %.

2 Selon la NNO, « suffisamment de chambres » signifie une chambre pour chaque couple d’adultes, chaque personne seule de 18 ans ou plus faisant partie du ménage, chaque couple d'enfants de même sexe âgés de moins de 18 ans et chaque fille ou garçon additionnel dans la famille, sauf s’il y a deux enfants de sexe opposé âgés de moins de cinq ans, qui peuvent alors partager la même chambre. Un ménage composé d’une personne seule peut occuper un studio (c’est-à-dire un logement sans chambre distincte).

3 Pour les locataires, les frais de logement englobent le loyer et les paiements effectués pour l’électricité, le combustible, l’eau et les autres services municipaux. Pour les propriétaires, ils englobent les versements hypothécaires (capital et intérêt), l’impôt foncier et, s’il y a lieu, les charges de copropriété, ainsi que les paiements effectués pour l’électricité, le combustible, l’eau et les autres services municipaux.

4 Un ménage est en mesure de se procurer logement acceptable si, sur le marché local, le loyer médian (services publics compris) des logements conformes aux trois normes est inférieur à 30 % de son revenu avant impôt.

5 La SCHL et Statistique Canada ne définissent pas de la même façon « dans les réserves » (les ménages vivant dans les réserves ne sont pas visés par l’évaluation des besoins impérieux en matière de logement). Par conséquent, les chiffres historiques sur les ménages au Yukon et en Saskatchewan différeront légèrement entre la SCHL et Statistique Canada, puisque les deux organismes n’ont pas les mêmes chiffres sur les ménages vivant dans les réserves.

Pour en savoir plus sur les concepts et les variables du recensement, consulter le dictionnaire du recensement de Statistique Canada.


Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 14 novembre 2017