Insured Loans secured by a Ministerial Loan Guarantee

How Can the Program Help First Nations?

The program may assist Band Councils or First Nation members living on-reserve in accessing financing for the construction, purchase and/or renovation of single-family homes or multiple residential rental properties.

Who is Eligible?

To be eligible, a borrower must:

  • have a Certificate of Possession or have been granted use of the land by the First Nation
  • satisfy the minimum requirements for taking out a loan with an Approved Lender and be able to support repayment of the loan
  • for homebuyers (1 to 4 unit owner-occupied properties): have savings or an Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) contribution; a minimum 5% of the lending value or approved costs of the house (for example, if the cost to build your house is $90,000, you must have at least $4500 as a down payment)
  • for rental investors (1 to 4 unit non owner-occupied properties): have a minimum downpayment of 20% of the lending value. CMHC-insured loans are available for qualified rental loans for up to a maximum of 80% of the lending value.
  • for rental projects (5+ units): have a minimum down payment of 15% of the lending value. CMHC insured loans are available for qualified rental projects for up to a maximum of 85% of the lending value.
  • The maximum amortization is 25 years.

How Does it Work?

CMHC provides loan insurance to the Approved Lender (banks, Aboriginal Capital Corporations, credit unions, etc) to make loans on residential homes or projects located on-reserve.

  • Security for the loan is made by a loan agreement with the Approved Lender, secured by a Band Council Resolution and a Ministerial Loan Guarantee obtained through INAC. If the agreed repayment of the loan is not made, the outstanding balance is paid out to the Approved Lender through the Ministerial Guarantee by INAC on behalf of the applicant. INAC will then require repayment from the Band.
  • The Approved Lender works with the borrower in preparing the application package, and when complete, submits the application to CMHC for approval.
  • The loan application process is carried out with the help of the Band Council who can assist in obtaining the necessary approvals.

Where Can I get More Information?

Canada

Share...


Print(opens in a new window)

Nouveau site Web bientôt en ligne. Plus d’info iciFermer

Prêts assurés par la SCHL assortis d'une garantie d'emprunt ministérielle

En quoi ce programme est-il favorable aux Premières Nations?

Les membres des Premières Nations qui habitent dans les réserves et les conseils de bande peuvent obtenir du financement pour la construction, l’achat ou la rénovation de maisons individuelles ou de logements locatifs collectifs.

Qui est admissible?

Pour être admissible, vous devez :

  • détenir un certificat de possession ou avoir obtenu de la Première Nation la permission d’utiliser le terrain;
  • satisfaire aux exigences minimales d’un emprunt contracté auprès d’un prêteur agréé et pouvoir rembourser l’emprunt;
  • propriétaires-occupants (propriétés comptant 1 à 4 logements occupées par le propriétaire) : avoir des économies ou bénéficier d’une contribution d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC); une mise de fonds d’au moins 5 % de la valeur d’emprunt ou du coût approuvé de la maison (par exemple, si la construction de votre maison coûte 90 000 $, vous devez verser une mise de fonds d’au moins 4 500 $);
  • investisseurs dans des immeubles locatifs (propriétés comptant 1 à 4 logements non occupées par le propriétaire) : avoir une mise de fonds d’au moins 20 % de la valeur d’emprunt. Des prêts assurés par la SCHL, jusqu’à concurrence de 80 % de la valeur d’emprunt, sont accessibles pour les ensembles locatifs admissibles;
  • propriétaires-bailleurs (5 logements ou plus) : verser une mise de fonds minimale de 15 % de la valeur d’emprunt. Des prêts assurés par la SCHL, jusqu’à concurrence de 85 % de la valeur d’emprunt, sont disponibles pour les ensembles locatifs admissibles;
  • la période d'amortissement maximale est de 25 ans.

Comment le programme fonctionne-t-il?

La SCHL offre de l’assurance prêt aux prêteurs agréés (banques, sociétés de financement des Autochtones, coopératives d’épargne et de crédit, etc.) qui consentent des prêts aux acheteurs de logements situés dans des réserves.

  • La garantie est assurée par un contrat de prêt conclu avec le prêteur agréé et garanti par une résolution du conseil de bande et une garantie ministérielle obtenue d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC). Si le remboursement convenu du prêt n’est pas effectué, le solde impayé est remboursé intégralement au prêteur agréé, au moyen de la garantie ministérielle, par AADNC, au nom du demandeur. AADNC exigera ensuite de la bande qu’elle le rembourse.
  • Le prêteur agréé travaille avec l’emprunteur à préparer le dossier de demande, et lorsqu’il est complété, soumet la demande à l’approbation de la SCHL.
  • On exécute le processus de demande de prêt conjointmentconjointement avec le conseil de bande, qui aide les acheteurs à obtenir les autorisations dont ils ont besoin.

Où puis-je obtenir d’autres renseignements?

  • Veuillez communiquer avec votre conseil de bande;
  • Veuillez communiquer avec l’établissement prêteur de votre région;

Canada

Partager...


Imprimer(ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)