If you need to make emergency repairs to your home to keep yourself and your family safe, we can help. Through our Emergency Repair Program (ERP) On-Reserve, we provide financial support to help low-income on-reserve households make the repairs they need.

Who is eligible for financial support?

A First Nation or First Nation member living on reserve may apply for financial support. However, the household income must be at or below the established limit which is based on the location of the community.

What emergency repairs are covered by this program?

Financial support is available only for emergency repairs to your home that are needed immediately. Several kinds of emergency repairs are covered by our program. For example, we can help you:

  • repair or replace a broken heating system
  • repair structural damage to your foundation, roof or exterior walls
  • repair plumbing problems preventing potable water from getting to your home
  • repair wiring and electrical systems to address health and safety hazards
  • repair or replace damaged flooring that be a safety hazard

Important: Have you done any of these repairs before getting your application approved in writing? If so, they won’t be eligible for funding under this program. Once you get approval, all work must start within 30 days and be completed within 90 days.

How much financial support is available?

We will provide eligible owners with up to $20,000 for the needed repairs. This is a contribution, not a loan, which means it doesn’t have to be repaid. If the property is on-reserve in northern or remote areas, the maximum amount may be increased by 25%.

What if I need repairs but it’s not an emergency?

You may be eligible for one of our other on-reserve housing programs. For example, we have a program to help with repairs to improve the health and safety of on-reserve housing. There’s also a programs to fund accessibility modifications and adaptations for seniors and people with disabilities.

For more information about this program, please contact your First Nation Housing Specialist.


Date Published:: March 31, 2018

Nous pouvons vous aider à faire des réparations urgentes dans votre habitation pour assurer votre sécurité et celle de votre famille. Notre Programme de réparations d’urgence (PRU) dans les réserves offre une aide financière aux ménages à faible revenu pour effectuer les réparations nécessaires.

Qui est admissible à l’aide financière?

Une Première Nation ou un membre d’une Première Nation peut demander une aide financière. Cependant, le revenu du ménage ne doit pas dépasser le revenu maximum établi selon l’emplacement de la communauté.

Quelles sont les réparations d’urgence admissibles?

Seuls les travaux de réparation d’urgence nécessaires immédiatement sont admissibles à une aide financière. Plusieurs types de réparations d’urgence sont couverts par le programme. En voici quelques exemples :

  • réparation ou remplacement d’un système de chauffage qui ne fonctionne plus;
  • réparation de dommages structuraux à la fondation, à la toiture ou aux murs extérieurs;
  • réparation de problèmes de plomberie qui empêchent l’approvisionnement en eau potable;
  • réparation du câblage et des systèmes électriques pour éliminer les risques pour la santé et la sécurité;
  • réparation ou remplacement de planchers endommagés pour éliminer les risques pour la sécurité.

Important : Avez-vous fait l’une de ces réparations avant l’approbation de votre demande par écrit? Si oui, elle ne sera pas admissible au financement du programme. Une fois approuvés, les travaux doivent commencer dans les 30 jours et être terminés dans les 90 jours.

Quel est le montant de l’aide financière?

Les propriétaires admissibles peuvent recevoir jusqu’à 20 000 $ pour les réparations nécessaires. L’aide est versée sous forme de contribution non remboursable. Si la propriété est dans une réserve d’une région nordique ou éloignée, le montant maximal peut être augmenté de 25 %.

Et si j’ai besoin de réparations non urgentes?

Vous pourriez être admissible à l’un de nos autres programmes de logement dans les réserves. Nous avons un programme d’aide pour les réparations visant à améliorer la salubrité et la sécurité des logements dans les réserves. Nous pouvons aussi financer les modifications pour améliorer l’accessibilité et faire les adaptations nécessaires pour les personnes âgées ou handicapées.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce programme, communiquez avec votre spécialiste du Logement des Premières nations.


Date de publication : 31 mars 2018