A rundown hotel and recycled shipping containers got a new lease on life as affordable housing for women fleeing violence in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside. The project was developed over four years by Atira Women’s Resource Society, a non-profit organization that provides supportive housing for women.

The first component of the project, Imouto Housing for Young Women, involved retrofitting the hotel into transitional housing for 18 young women aged 16 to 24 already living in the area. “All have experienced significant trauma,” explained Janice Abbott CEO of Atira. “They may be couch surfing or living in hotels and may be involved with people who are dangerous to them.”

The second component is the recycled shipping container project, which opened in August 2013. Two three-storey buildings were created from shipping containers that were dropped in by crane and reconfigured on site. The buildings have 12 self-contained studio apartments, each measuring about 280 square feet in size.

“In the recycled shipping container housing we will house women who have some skills and the desire to work with and mentor young women. And they will work directly with the young women next door [at Imouto Housing] through our intergenerational mentorship program,” explained Abbott.

The idea for Imouto Housing for Young Women came about in 2009, when Abbott thought of renovating the hotel, which was for sale at that time. “Imouto” is a Japanese word meaning “little sister.”

“It’s huge that Atira has offered me this very safe place to come and live and to see that somebody had faith in me. Now I get to be somewhere safe and get to make different choices,” said Rochelle Poirier, a mentor and resident of the shipping container project.

Reusing old shipping containers helped reduce construction costs. “We live in a port city, so the recycled shipping containers are readily available. They’re inexpensive, and they hasten the building of the project,” explained Abbott.

The construction costs for the two projects were $3.3  million. The Government of Canada, through CMHC, contributed $2.4 million through the Shelter Enhancement Program. The Government of British Columbia, through BC Housing, and the City of Vancouver also provided assistance. Four of the containers were donated, two by BC Hydro and two by private citizens, for an approximate value of $20,000.

“The end result has exceeded our expectations. This is housing that I think anybody would be thrilled to live in,” said Abbott.

VideoTranscript
Janice Abbott
Atira Women’s Resource Society and Atira Property Management
00:09 – 00:44

Atira Women’s resource society has been providing housing to women fleeing violence for almost 30 years.

There’s actually 2 components to this project. One is the original building, which has been here since 1912. In that building we’re housing young women who have been homeless, there are 18 rooms and it’s communal living. The second part of the project is the recycled shipping container component. There are 12 self-contained studio units here.

The units are affordable, the rent is affordable, it’s safe. Women are not only being able to interact with each other and look after each other but there’s also gates at the front and back and the units are self contained.

Rochelle Poirier
Resident
00:45 – 00:55

It’s huge that Atira has offered me this very safe place to come and live. Now I get to be somewhere that’s safe and get to make different choices and to see that somebody had faith in me.

Janice Abbott
00:56 – 01:25

The recycled shipping containers are readily available, they hasten the building of the project, and they’re inexpensive.

We know that because it’s been done in the city of Vancouver it will be easier to do in other municipalities and cities.

Given that Vancouver is a port city there are [sic] a huge supply of shipping containers available in our backyard.

We’re so grateful to the construction manager, to the city inspectors who stuck with us and at the end of the day made this work.

Without CMHC this project never would have been built. They provided $2.4 million through their Shelter Enhancement Program.

Text caption
01:26 – 01:33

The Shelter Enhancement Program was delivered by CMHC in British Columbia from 1995 to 2011 to provide funding for housing for victims fleeing family violence.

Tom Siems
CMHC
01:34 – 01:48

There’s 2 components, one is to develop brand new housing which is essentially shelters or second stage housing for families or individuals who are victims of violence. The other component is to do renovations to existing shelters.

Janice Abbott
01:49 – 02:04

One of the programs that we’ve incorporated into this development is an intergenerational mentorship program. In the recycled shipping container housing we will house women who have some skills and the desire to work with and mentor young women, and they will work directly with the young women next door.

Sharon Baptiste
Resident
02:05 – 02:26

I’m from Hobbema, Alberta, Cree Nation. I’m a part of the mentorship program for Atira. It’s going to give me an opportunity to show my culture.

This would be my first time living in an environment like this. I’m honoured to be moving in here.

Janice Abbott
02:27 – 02:42

Many of the women who will live here, it will have been many, many years since they had their own washroom, their own kitchen, you know, their own front door that they can shut and a place to call their own. So this project offers both that privacy and that safety.

Rochelle Poirier
02:43 – 02:49

I definitely have an amazing sense of safety here, just knowing I have they key - nobody can just wander in and out.

Janice Abbott
02:50 – 03:00

The end result has exceeded our expectations by more than I can express, it’s housing that I think anybody would be thrilled to live in.

Date Published: March 31, 2018

Un hôtel en ruine et des conteneurs d’expédition ont reçu un deuxième souffle sous forme de logements abordables destinés aux femmes victimes de violence, dans le quartier Downtown Eastside de Vancouver. Cet ensemble a été réalisé sur une période de quatre ans par Atira Women’s Resource Society, un organisme à but non lucratif qui offre des logements avec services de soutien aux femmes.

La première composante de l’ensemble, Imouto Housing for Young Women, a consisté à réaménager l’hôtel en habitations de transition destinées à 18 jeunes femmes de 16 à 24 ans qui habitaient déjà dans le quartier. « Elles ont toutes été victimes de traumatisme important, explique Janice Abbott, directrice générale d’Atira. Il est possible qu’elles soient hébergées temporairement par des amis ou vivent dans des hôtels et qu’elles côtoient des personnes qui présentent un danger pour elles. »

La deuxième composante est l’ensemble de conteneurs d’expédition recyclés qui a ouvert ses portes en août 2013. Deux immeubles à trois étages ont été créés à partir de ces conteneurs, qui ont été livrés par grue et réaménagés sur place. Les immeubles abritent 12 studios autonomes d’une superficie de 26 m2.

« Dans les conteneurs d’expédition recyclés, nous logerons des femmes qui ont certaines compétences et qui sont prêtes à travailler avec de jeunes femmes et à les conseiller. Elles travailleront directement avec les jeunes femmes d’à côté [dans l’ensemble Imouto], dans le cadre de notre programme de mentorat intergénérationnel », a expliqué Mme Abbott.

L’idée derrière Imouto Housing for Young Women est venue en 2009, lorsque Mme Abbott songeait à rénover l’hôtel qui était alors à vendre. « Imouto » est un mot japonais qui signifie « petite sœur »

« C’est extraordinaire qu’Atira m’ait proposé de venir vivre ici même, dans ce logement très sûr et de constater que quelqu’un a eu foi en moi. Maintenant, j’ai la chance de vivre en sécurité et de pouvoir faire des choix. », a indiqué Rochelle Poirier, une mentore et résidente de l’ensemble de conteneurs d’expédition recyclés.

Les coûts de construction ont été réduits grâce à l’utilisation de conteneurs d’expédition. « Nous vivons dans une ville portuaire, donc il est facile de se procurer des conteneurs d’expédition recyclés. Ils sont peu coûteux et permettent d’accélérer la construction de l’ensemble », a expliqué Mme Abbott.

La construction des deux ensembles a coûté 3,3 millions de dollars. Le gouvernement du Canada, par l’entremise de la SCHL, a versé 2,4 millions de dollars en application du Programme d’amélioration des maisons d’hébergement (PAMH). Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, par l’entremise de BC Housing, et la Ville de Vancouver ont également apporté leur aide. Quatre des conteneurs ont été donnés, deux par BC Hydro et deux par des particuliers, le tout représentant une valeur de 20 000 $.

« Le résultat final a dépassé nos attentes. Je pense que n’importe qui serait très heureux d’occuper l’un de ces logements », a indiqué Mme Abbott.

Transcription
Janice Abbott
Atira Women’s Resource Society et Atira Property Management
00:09 – 00:44

L’organisme Atira Women’s Resource Society fournit des logements aux femmes victimes de violence depuis près de 30 ans.

En fait, cet ensemble est constitué de deux éléments. Le premier est l’immeuble original, qui date de 1912. Dans cet immeuble de 18 chambres, nous hébergeons des jeunes femmes qui étaient sans abri auparavant. Elles adoptent un mode de vie collectif. La deuxième composante est un ensemble de conteneurs d’expédition recyclés qui abrite 12 studios autonomes.

Les logements, tout comme les loyers, sont abordables. Ils sont sûrs. Non seulement les femmes peuvent faire appel les unes aux autres et s’entraider, mais elles demeurent dans des logements autonomes au sein d’un complexe sécurisé par des portails situés devant et derrière.

Rochelle Poirier
Résidente
00:45 – 00:55

C’est extraordinaire qu’Atira m’ait proposé de venir vivre ici même, dans ce logement très sûr. Grâce à cet organisme, j’ai la chance de vivre en sécurité, de pouvoir faire des choix, et de constater que quelqu’un a eu foi en moi.

Janice Abbott
00:56 – 01:25

On peut se procurer des conteneurs d’expédition recyclés facilement et à bon prix. Et leur utilisation permet d’accélérer la construction de l’ensemble.

Nous sommes conscients que, parce qu’il a été réalisé dans la ville de Vancouver, ce projet sera plus facile à réaliser dans d’autres municipalités et villes.

Étant donné que Vancouver est une ville portuaire, nous disposons d’une offre exceptionnelle de conteneurs d’expédition, directement à notre porte.

Nous sommes extrêmement reconnaissants envers le directeur des travaux et les inspecteurs municipaux qui nous sont restés fidèles et qui, au bout du compte, ont contribué à la réussite du projet.

Sans l’aide de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, cet ensemble n’aurait jamais vu le jour. La SCHL a versé 2,4 millions de dollars dans le cadre de son Programme d’amélioration des maisons d’hébergement.

Légende

Le Programme d’amélioration des maisons d’hébergement a été mis en œuvre par la SCHL en Colombie-Britannique entre 1995 et 2011 afin de financer des logements destinés aux victimes de violence familiale.

Tom Siems
SCHL
01:34 – 01:48

Le programme vise deux objectifs, dont le premier consiste à créer des logements neufs, surtout des maisons d’hébergement et des maisons de transition destinées à des familles ou des personnes seules victimes de violence. L’autre objectif consiste à faire des rénovations dans les centres d’hébergement existants.

Janice Abbott
01:49 – 02:04

Nous avons incorporé dans cet ensemble un programme de mentorat intergénérationnel. Les studios dans les conteneurs d’expédition recyclés abriteront des femmes qui ont certaines compétences qu’elles sont prêtes à partager avec des jeunes femmes, et elles deviendront les mentores des jeunes femmes d’à côté.

Sharon Baptiste
Résidente
02:05 – 02:26

Je viens de la Nation crie d’Hobbema (Alberta). Je participe au programme de mentorat d’Atira. Cette expérience va me donner une occasion de montrer ma culture.

Ce sera la première fois que je vis dans un tel environnement. C’est un honneur d’emménager ici.

Janice Abbott
02:27 – 02:42

Vous savez, cela fait une éternité que ces femmes, pour la plupart, n’ont pas eu leurs propres toilettes, leur propre cuisine, leur propre porte d’entrée qui se verrouille; bref, un véritable chez-soi. Donc, cet ensemble représente à leurs yeux l’intimité et la sécurité.

Rochelle Poirier
02:43 – 02:49

J’ai vraiment une sensation de sécurité ici, sachant que j’ai la clé. Personne ne peut aller et venir à sa guise.

Janice Abbott
02:50 – 03:00

The end result has exceeded our expectations by more than I can express, it’s housing that I think anybody would be thrilled to live in.

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 31 mars 2018